I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 30, 2014 - 12:24 p.m.

Bloggy McBloggerson

Baseball season is over and here are the sad results of my Fantasy League.

After a strong start your beloved Batnoses fell to fourth place. That's in the money but not what matters. We have a nice foundation for next year as I got two top pitchers this year, Carlos Carasco and Yordano Ventura for 70� and 60� respectively and I got a closer Neftali Feliz or 20�. Like the Mets I'll build a team around my young pitching staff.

I had therapy yesterday. It's always hard to write on Tuesdays because I can't write about therapy. In fact therapy is pretty much blogging about the things I can't talk about here. That means I often discuss my relationships with other people. That is the prime taboo blogging. I learned from experience to not do that anymore.

After therapy I bought bagels at the half price on Monday bagel store. That works out great. I then got my first fresh apple cider of the year from the Union Square farmer's market. I had dinner with Heather. It's nice to have a break from eating alone. I made something new. I couldn't find jerk seasoning near her so I made chicken thighs with curry powder and garlic. It worked. I'm pretty sure I could make good chicken out of whatever spices you have in your kitchen. I never liked what my mother made. She always used paprika and I hate paprika. I have no idea why she insisted on using it as she knew I didn't like it. Actually for years I thought it was garlic I didn't like as she used that too and saw her put that on. Little did I know that I loved garlic. But the key to making chicken is to not overcook it. It's so easy to dry out.

So that was my exciting day. No it isn't. I went to the Strand and got a book I wanted. I couldn't find the other book I wanted so I got that on Amazon.

The significance of all this is that I did nothing exciting but wasn't depressed. I'm making progress. I'm actually excited about a project but I'm not free to discuss that yet.

I'm going to metablog, blog about blogs. Do you have any other friends that do what I do? Probably not. When I started I had many now I stand alone. Some of my friends have general blogs that they occasionally update but not often. So what do I read? Do you know based on what I write about and post on Facebook?

First off I keep track of my blogs with Feedly. It is how I recommend you follow me, you can't rely on Facebook. See that link on how to subscribe on the bottom? Click it then check that to see if I have updated. Then you can add subscriptions to some of the blogs I'm going to link to now.

My biggest grouping is economics. Why? It has a huge effect on our lives, there's an actual though imperfect science behind it, and because there's math it is not well covered in the general press. I spend more time reading this group then all the others put together.

  • Conscience of a Liberal by Paul Krugman. This is my clear favorite and Krugman my guru. If I could it only read one blog it would be this one. He sometimes strays into politics but for the most part it's economics. Unlike his column he can get technical in his blog. He also write quite a bit about the state of the discipline. You need to know this stuff to be a good citizen.
  • Economist's View by Mark Thoma. Mark not only writes his own analysis but links every day to others. This is how I found most of the others.
  • Rortybomb by Mike Konczal. It's on The Next New Deal: The Blog of the Roosevelt Institute. He's Krugman's favorite blogger.
  • On the Economy by Jared Bernstein. "From 2009 to 2011, Bernstein was the Chief Economist and Economic Adviser to Vice President Joe Biden, executive director of the White House Task Force on the Middle Class, and a member of President Obama�s economic team." As someone that had influence in policy I trust him a bit late. He wants to defend his actions. But he's still very good most of the time.
  • Robert Reich. He's the outlier. He isn't an economist but a lawyer. He was Clinton's Secretary of Labor. His heart is in the right place but you can't trust his analysis. But sometimes he says what needs to be said.

I read not just economics but general poltics. I could have perhaps put Reich in this category but he writes overwhelmingly about the economy.

  • Taking Note by the editorial page writers of the New York Times. As it's written by many people it's the most frequently updated. It keeps me abreast of what's happening in the body politic.. My favorites are the ones titled, "No comment necessary." That will link to a direct quote by some politician, usually a prominant Republican, that makes your jaw drop.
  • On The Ground by Nicholas Kristoff. This is as much a must read as Krugman. If you want to follow the spread of ebola or the treatment of women in the third world or the plight of powerless anywhere this is where to go. He finds the stories that others give up on from suffering fatigue. He often finds the bright spots, the heroes and heroines. He wants to change the world by making you care. He's one of my heroes.

You might have heard that I like music. I read two music blogs, both by friends and with very different purposes.

  • Everything Sundry by Kathy Sands-Boehmer. Kathy's a good friend of mine and a good writer. She is the booking manager of the Me and Thee Coffeehouse in Marblehead. She interviews a musician each entry and I learn new things about musicians even when I know them well.
  • Now I've Heard Everything by Eliot Wagner. Eliot hears more live music than me! Yes you heard that right. Every day he gives some recommendations on what to hear, gives news, and sometimes posts videos.

I also read Fantasy Baseball blogs but I pay for that so I won't link to it.. So that's my daily reading. .I subscribe to 59 blogs but most don�t' update often.

Now for some breakfast. It's bacon and eggs time.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 30, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!