I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 31, 2016 - 4:32 p.m.

Right Place at the Right Time

The focus of today's Wise Madness is a video. I'm caught in an internet traffic jam and it's taking forever to load. So I'm going to write this. Put in "insert video here" then post it later. I have to leave here around 5. I'm not sure if it will have finished by then. Wish yourselves luck. It's worth the wait.

Yesterday was National Hang Out With Brianne Day. She came into the City and guess what I did, I hung out with her. She came in with Abby and we met at Madison Square Park. We sat on one of the lawns till the weather got threatening. Brianne had to meet another friend Alex in the Times Square Area so I suggested we sit in the lobby of the Marriot Marquee. We walked up there and the rain didn't rise to more than a drizzle while we did. We then spent the next many hours hanging out and talking. The rumors that I am older than the three of them put together are greatly exaggerated, just significantly more than any two of them. Also the rumor, started by me that Alex was a woman is also false. Sadly, you can't believe everything you read on the internet even when you post it yourself.

Abby went home for dinner and the rest of us walked to Eighth Avenue for pizza. By then it was raining fairly hard but we are not made of sugar. Brianne and Alex were going to the PlayStation Theater to see Maria Bamford. The doors were at 7:00. They thought they might be able to wait in the lobby before then so we went over there. They couldn't go in. It started to rain harder and we took shelter in the walkway between 44th and 45th street. As soon as we walked in we heard beautiful harmonies. Then we saw this.

We had no idea what was going on, just that the singing was incredible. To stumble on something like this one reason I love living in New York. It gave me chills. But what was it? Recognize anyone or any of the music? It was the casts of Hamilton, The Lion King, and The Color Purple in a Black Lives Matter revival meeting. I'm not sure how much of the magic the video conveys but we were awash in it. We knew how lucky we were to find this.

My words cannot compare to that music so I'm keeping this short. The rain let up a bit and Brianne and Alex went to get online to go in. I said goodbye and it only took me 15 minutes to actually leave them. I'm not sure how many times I hugged Brianne goodbye. Maybe that was my clever scheme.

Today I'm picking up my Falcon Ridge supplies from Melissa's house and then tonight I'm seeing No Fuss and Feathers. I leave for Falcon Ridge on Thursday. There's lots of magic to go around.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 31, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!