I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 30, 2017 - 2:59 p.m.

Bias against Bias

I didn't leave the house yesterday; I'm having too many days like that. Remind me to discuss it with my therapist. It makes it so much more difficult to write entertaining blogs. Despite this, I have a large backlog of unused rainy-day diary ideas.

A friend that sent me to Coventry. That's not what I want to write about; I just wanted to use the expression "sent to Coventry." Do any of you know what it means? It's a Briticism and I don't know where I picked it up. It might be from the Robert Heinlein short story, "Coventry" where people are literally sent to Coventry. I often want to use it but never do because I have never heard anyone else use the expression and I'm afraid it wouldn't be understood. I was going to make you look it up but I decided to have mercy on you. From Wikipedia:

To send someone to Coventry is an English idiom meaning to deliberately ostracize someone. Typically, this is done by not talking to them, avoiding someone's company, and generally pretending that they no longer exist.
My knowledge base is a bit out of kilter with society's. I have seen people use the expression "ghosting" but had no idea what it meant. I looked it up and what do you know, it's the cyberspace version of sending to Coventry. Perhaps the fact that I'm fascinated by these idioms is why I was sent to Coventry, excuse me, ghosted.

Hold on, I'm about to make a sharp turn and I don't want you to get thrown around or spill your drink.

Why do so many people make no attempt to be unbiased? We all have unconscious biases, we can work at suppressing them but not eliminating them. Some people not only don't make that effort, they don't see bias a fault. They attack people and causes they don't like and defend those they do with no regard to justification.

You wouldn't think you'd have to make mountains out of molehills to criticize Trump. I could dedicate this blog to discussing terrible things he's done or is suspected of doing. His misfeasance and malfeasance is unpresidented. That's not enough for some people. They need to attack him for the way he likes his steak.

I have seen this pop up on Facebook, Trump Just Disrespected Our Fallen Soldiers At Arlington Memorial Day Ceremony. You mean you didn't read about that in the Newspapers or see it on TV? It's because it's not what happened. Trump looked a little silly while singing along to the National Anthem. Singing the Star Spangled Banner is not disrespectful. If you had cameras on you all day there would be times where you looked silly too. This is exactly the kind of crap the right pulled on Obama and Hillary and were rightfully criticized for. Remember the stupid blowup over not wearing an American Flag lapel pin?

Don't think I'm letting conservatives off. They are even worse. They defend Trump for actions far worse than things the execrated Obama and Hillary for. Using a private email server is treason but giving Russia privy to top secret intelligence is fine. Can you imagine what they'd be saying if the Clinton campaign had been in contact with Russia?

People too often don't support or oppose politicians because they are right or wrong, they judge what is right or wrong based on which politician did it. I oppose Trump as much as anyone but I'm not going to sink to his level to fight him. You can't use the Ring to fight Sauron without becoming Sauron. If you think of yourself as one of the good guys act like one of the good guys. A simple test, ask yourself how you'd feel if the people you oppose did this? If you'd be angry then you shouldn't do it. You know it's wrong. Don't split hairs to say why this is different. The burden of proof is on you; that's how you fight the subconscious biases.

Now to head eat and head out. I'm pretty much out of food and I have to go to my PO box.

I forgot something important. My fantasy baseball team got off to a very slow start. For the month of April, the Nashional Batnoses were in last or second to last and were awful at everything but stealing bases. We have turned it around in May and last week we led the league in both hitting and pitching. We have weekly prizes for both and most points overall. The Batnoses won all three! I'm pretty sure we had some weeks we came in last in all three earlier in the season. I know nobody would be interested but I could happily blog about the team once a week. Breakfast is calling me, I should answer.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 30, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!