I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 09, 2017 - 11:44 a.m.

I Hope the Artists are not Really Starving

I'm still feeling the effects of the new med, Remeron aka mirtazapine. I didn't take it last night, this is left over from taking it before I went to sleep the night before. I doubt I'll ever take it again. This is not pleasant. Yesterday after I blogged I watched an episode of Agents of Shield ate ice cream, and slept for three more hours. I woke up and went to make dinner and saw that it was time for me to leave. So, I got dressed and headed out.

I headed four blocks away to the Starving Artist Café to see Bev Grant and Karen Hudson; Bernie and Jane went too. City Island is not a convenient place to live, except when my musicians play the Starving Artist. I've never been able to walk five minutes to hear music before.

When I walked in they were sound checking so I got quick hugs. Then when they finished I got proper hugs. Have My Gentle Readers picked up that hugs are important? You have all picked up that food is important. I usually have the stuffed baked potatoes there but they were out so I had the Philly cheesesteak sliders. Those were great.

The first set songs by Bev followed by songs by Karen. They were so good I stayed awake even though that was a challenge. The second sent was a song swap. It was even more amazing I stayed awake the entire set and wasn't longing it for it to end so I could go to bed.

I no longer listen to music as a civilian. I'm always working on how I'm going to write about it. In the old days, I wouldn't talk about the music because I didn't know how. I tried for a short time to going back to that, writing about everything I did but not the music itself. I couldn't keep that up. I'm going to come close today, it's perhaps because my brain was somewhat scrambled. It's still somewhat scrambled. What I noticed last night was the way they introduced their songs. I usually notice that when people do that poorly. Some songwriters feel the need to explain what each song is about. The song is supposed to explain that. Bev and Karen seemed to always have interesting stories about what led them to write the song or background information you should know to understand the song. That's especially true of Bev who is writing about soccer playing moms in South Africa and a guy that lives on a mountain that won't sell to the coal company that wants to buy it and removed the top of the mountain. During the song swap Karen and Bev compared dysfunctional family members.

After the show I gave quick hugs, said goodbye, and walked home. Guess what I did then; I posted my blogs from 10 and 15 years ago, then went to sleep. My Gentle Readers come first but collapsing could not be put off that long. Now to have breakfast and drink beloved coffee. Hopefully I'll make my way out of the house today as it's beautiful outside. The irony is that I started on the mirtazapine because I spent days not leaving the house.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 09, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!