I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 27, 2018 - 11:22 a.m.

Horvendile's Belt

My vision is back to normal. By the time I wrote yesterday I could see mid-distances better than usual but worse at the computer screen distance. As I can navigate with my usual vision but had trouble on the computer yesterday, this is preferable.

There's a lesson to be learned. Let's see I had tried an intervention, my vision improved so many people would think that it worked. This is why you must do studies with control groups. I'm explaining this now but it's not following my own advice. Everyone has heard these arguments, but no amount of evidence will convince some people that they can't believe their gut. Their gut tells them it's not true. At least this allows me to know that I tried. You can lead a horse to reason, but you can't make him think.

As I could navigate but using the computer as difficult I went for a walk yesterday. I need to do that more often. It was a short walk, to the north end of the island and back. For motivation I stopped at the Dunkin' Donuts, the first thing you reach when you cross the bridge. There's a new caramel donut that is magnificent. I highly recommend it. I took pictures of interesting homes along the way. That as on my phone, I need to bring my real camera. It's spring, I should be walking every nice day. Today is not a nice day; it is going to rain. It's Friday so I will go to therapy and stop at Stop & Shop. I know I was just there but I'm almost out of potatoes.

I loved last night's dinner, one of the bacon-wrapped chuck steak filets from Aldi. The problem with chuck is that it's tough, this is tenderized and there's bacon.

I have only one item on my music calendar in the next week. That feels like nothing but if I did that every week it would mean 52 concerts a year; far more than the average person goes to. It helps to put things in perspective. I'll focus on doing other things. I live in a borough with a world-famous zoo and botanical garden. I have friends I've been meaning to get together with. I have a pass for a free movie. I can even combine those things.

I'm rejecting everything I've considered writing about. It's like the live music drought. I still write far more than the average person. Nobody is going to shoot me for writing less than 500 words today. I let you know I'm alive and able to see. My work here is done.

Oh no, I almost forgot my almost idiot story. Forgetting it is an idiot story. My belt broke last weekend, the buckle fell off when I went to tighten it. I couldn't fix it. I went on amazon and bought a new one. I tried something new, a ratchet belt. There are no holes. It allows you to fine tune the length. I usually find one hole to small and the next too large. It came on Wednesday. Even though I was wearing sweat pants without belt loops I tried it on. It fit nicely. I went to take it off. I couldn't. I didn't see how to release it. That's the idiot part. I went online and found a video of how to work it. There's a lever on the bottom. I had felt that before, it didn't move. Now that I knew that was it I tried again. It still wouldn't move. That's why it's an almost idiot story. I kept it on as I made and ate dinner. I kept trying to get it off. Nothing helped, in fact it kept ratcheting tighter. It was trying to kill me like a boa constrictor. Jane, who I used to think was the nicest person in the world couldn't stop laughing. The nicest person in the world wouldn't think me slowly dying of asphyxiation was hysterically funny. I eventually went up to my room to look at a video on my computer, not my phone, maybe I was missing something. I wasn't. I finally gave up and thought outside the box, I wiggled it over my hips and slipped it off that way. When I could see what I was doing I tried releasing it. It was easy. The lever required very little pressure. Maybe the sweat pants got caught in the mechanism.

Yesterday I wore it for my walk. I demonstrated to Jane that I could work it now, or I attempted to. It was stuck again. Jane laughed again. It worked easy when it wasn't around my waist. I figured, it had to do with tension. I sucked my gut in so it would be loose. That did it, the belt released. Do I keep the belt or return it? What do you think? I can use it now. I just have to suck it up.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 27, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!