I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 10, 2013 - 11:51 p.m.

Botanic not Marvin Gardens or BBG not BBQ

I might not have time to update tomorrow morning so I better do it now. I don't have time now either of course.

I actually did things today. I have something to write about. I wrote earlier entry at Kos Kaffe. I look forward to going there while I wait for Celebrian. I never had cold brewed coffee before. Not sure if that's what made it great but it was. I pretty much always love the coffee. There is always the same guy behind the counter. He's one of those incidental people in my life that I like. I realized that if he were a woman I'd say I flirt with him. What I really do is act friendly and interested in the person because I am friendly and interested in the person. Today I noticed for the first time that he has dreadlocks. How can I have not noticed that? I asked him, It's because he usually has it pulled back in pony tail.

The receptionist at my therapist left. I always flirted with her. She always flirted back. I got a practical benefit from that. She knew me. I didn't have to give my name or tell her who I was seeing. What I really appreciated was that she smiled as soon as she saw me.

After getting back from driving Celebrian I had two and half hours free to make the eBlast for First Acoustics. That's my new venue job. This month's performers are Pesky J. Nixon with Kara Kulpa their mandolin/fiddle player, as the opening act. It usually takes hours to prepare the eBlast with mailchimp. I took a nap for a hour and ate lunch and still finished it. It helps that I quoted Pesky J. Nixon quoting Wise Madness as their blurb. Hell I'll quote myself quoting Pesky J. Nixon, quoting me.

With rich harmonies and musical versatility PJN brings a unique brand of infectious energy and stage banter to every stage they grace. At times putting on a show that borders on brotherly bickering these boys specialize on bringing the audience into their world, songs, and stories. "They raise the roof. They are a band that makes me feel good no matter what. They radiate positive vibes. Their new songs are moving in a new direction; they are growing as artists as we watch.

Feel free to quote that.

I finished that just as I had to leave to meet Katherine at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden. That is exactly the kind of thing I always say I should do more often. I became a member of the Garden and I got guests passes so we didn't have to pay. It was a beautiful day, almost perfect weather. I wish I had my linen clothes, that would have been perfect. I wish I had remembered to wear my sandals.

It was great to see the Garden when it wasn't jammed with people there for the Cherry Blossom festival. There were still a good number of people there for a weekday. Just not enough to make it crowded. I got to see parts of the Garden I missed before. The cherry blossoms are past peak but still beautiful. We asked someone to take a picture of us and I love how it came out.


Doesn't that look like an impressionist painting? Pictures of me always look better with pretty woman in the shot; the beauty and the beast effect. They look even better when I'm not in the picture at all.

At one point we jumped over the stream. After we did we discovered there was a bridge a few yards away. Our way was more fun.

Lots of plants there look like they come from science fiction movies. One tried to eat Katherine.

I was not much fun this evening. I graded tests. It is amazing how little students care. This was a take-home test and it looks like many of them knocked it off in half an hour. They couldn't be bothered to read the directions and tried to jam as much as possible on each page even though it makes it difficult to read. Funny thing but if I tell them that I'll simply mark every question that's written next to not under the previous question wrong, they stop doing that. It isn't that they can't follow directions it's that they don't want to be bothered if it's to make somebody else's life easier.

The reason that I won't have time to update tomorrow is that Lena is coming up for about 24 hours. Her train comes in a little before noon. I should have time to write before then but I know I often squander it. I had enough grading tonight so I might as well write.

I am not writing tomorrow I'll be back Sunday afternoon or evening with my exciting stories.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 10, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!