I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 18, 2012 - 5:49 p.m.

BBC America

I'm way behind on my blogging thanks to a very busy weekend. I don't have to catch up on everything now so I'll try and break things up into shorter editions and post them as I finish them.

Friday night I went out to see Burning Bridget Cleary at the The Our Times Coffeehouse for the first time since I moved to Brooklyn., When I lived in Queens and had a car it was the closest venue to my house and the easiest to get to. I thought it might be too hard for me to get to now but it wasn't, just a bit expensive. I took the LIRR to Mineola and then an 10 minute walk. I got there early like I wanted to so I'd have time to talk to the band as I wanted to make a quick exit afterward. I had to get up early the next morning to get to Clearwater. This was a Clear weekend.

I got to the Our Times just after doors opened and grabbed my usual place up front. The band was doing sound check. I always feel good when people spot me and they smile. You'd think I'd stop being insecure about such things but I don't. Some things just get imprinted on your brain during high school.

The band is centered around the Baldino family, Rose fiddles and sings her father Lou plays guitar and sings, and her mother Cheryl is the manager. While the band sound checked I talked to Cheryl and did the merch while she ate dinner.

Genna the other fiddler in the band left. She's in Europe now. She was replaced but her replacement got sick so with two days notice she was replaced with Rose's first fiddle teacher, Deirdre. She learned her parts in two days. How can people be that talented?

So what can I say about BBC? First off that's Burning Bridget Cleary, not British Broadcasting System. Somebody asked about that since their t-shirts say BBC. Like almost every band that I seem to like now they are neo-trad but in their case Irish. It was started by Rose and Genna when they were in high school. I love that two 15 year old girls decided that they wanted to start an Irish band. I'm not sure if either of them is at all Irish. Deirdre might be the only Gael in the band. Put them on your list of bands you have to see.

Burning Bridget Cleary got good news right before the show. They are going to be in the Emerging Artist Showcase at Falcon Ridge. That of course means they will be playing The Budgiedome

I sat with Mike and asked him to give me a ride back to the Train Station after the show. That was a great plan. Except for one thing. We both like to talk, and to talk, and to talk, and to �

So you know what happened. I missed my train. And it was the last one that went back to Brooklyn for the night. So I had to take one that went through Manhattan and left much later than I wanted to. I made that train and figured out that I didn't have to go to Manhattan. I could go to Jamaica in Queens and take the subway from there. The problem with that is that it took two subway lines and a lot more stops. I think I saved about 10 minutes over going through Penn station. I got home around 12:45. I wanted to be home by 11 since I had to get early the next morning for Clearwater. That is the beginning of my sleep deprivation and the end of this edition of Wise Madness. I'll post this then move on to Clearwater.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 18, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!