I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-02-16 - 12:24 p.m.

Richard Barone

Hardly anyone is going to read my entries for the next couple of days. Everyone else is at Frücon or is having a Neal over for the weekend. I guess this entry is for you Leah.

As I said in my last entry yesterday I played chauffeur. I drove my mother to the dentist in the morning. The other day I said oral surgeon, I was wrong, he's a dentist. It was a new dentist and my mother loved him. It gave me a chance to read the NY Times while I waited. I really need to read it every day. If nothing else it gives me entry ideas, or at least rants.

After the dentist I took my father to dialysis. Later I had to pick him up. Between the car runs I played with Carey online. Someone had to do it, as everyone else wasn't around. Not that I'm complaining of course.

Last night I saw Richard Barone at the The Cutting Room. As usual I got there too early and had to wait around till doors at 8. I did get the table right by the stage though. One of the volunteers from WFUV said they might go to the show but he didn't show up. I saw the show alone but had a really good time. I even took some notes.

Before the show, when I was waiting outside I witnessed a crime against humanity. Joni Mitchell singing Both Sides Now from her Clouds album was on the PA system. Some drunken lout shouted for them to "turn off that shit." I felt like going over to him and decking him. Instead I'm teaching him a lesson and writing about him in a diary entry that only Leah is going to read. I should really modify that. I as just talking to Carey while Neal was in the shower and she said she'd read it too. So you two have to beat him up the lout if you ever run into him.

Now back to the show.

Richard is a showman. He is an amazing blend of glitter rocker and Vegas lounge act. He used an ancient mic, the kind you see in old footage of a young Sinatra. He has three guitars; the electrics aren't your usual Gibson or Fender solid bodies. He has two enormous hollow bodies, a Guild and a Gibson. His back up musicians were a pianist, a cellist, and a maniacal drummer. With that backing he can still really rock. I have never heard someone make a cello growl before. She was a true rock cellist.

He had several guests join him on stage. The first was Jenni Muldaur, the daughter of Maria Muldaur of "Midnight at the Oasis" fame. Jenni is a fine singer in her own right. They performed Love Hurts. Richard explained that he knew the song from he Everly Brothers while Jenni knew it from the Gram Parsons - Emmylou Harris version, which is where I know it from. They combined the two versions and it really worked.

Tony Trischka, the master banjo player, who he met working on the Downtown Messiah joined him for Odd Girl Out which Richard co-wrote with Jill Sobule.

Another guest was Lina Koutrakos, a cabaret performer who was also in the Downtown Messiah. He produced her last album.

You can see by the guests the range of styles that Richard encompasses. He also did the hard rocking and satiric, I Fell for Myself a story of a Narcissist, some Beatlesque numbers, a song he co-wrote with Paul Williams and covers of Peggy Lee and James Brown. He ended with Brown's Sex Machine which the crowd ate up. Just before he did it the stand which had his notes on it fell off the stage and crashed right onto my table. I resisted to temptation to grab souvenirs and returned all of his things to the stage.

It was a great show; I wish he had his CDs on sale. I need to add him to my collection.

I had a bit of a start at 4:50 AM this morning. My father couldn't sleep and was walking around. He fell down and couldn't get up. I wasn't able to get him on his feet myself so I had to call 911. They sent the cops not paramedics, which I don't think was wise. He wasn't hurt but I wanted someone with some experience. As it was I had to tell the cop what to do. He grabbed my father under one shoulder and I grabbed him under the other and together we were able to lift him onto the chair. My father is going to have to get one of those medical alert beepers in case he falls when no one else is around. I won't feel comfortable till he gets one.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-02-16
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!