I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 17, 2016 - 1:09 p.m.

Bright Stars

I have over 200 pics from last night so I think that will have to wait till after I write. Hey that's not how I start Wise Madness. That's better, now I'm talking to myself. That is how I start Wise Madness. I could spend this entire entry deconstruction itself if you like. Oh you don't like. I can year you thinking that even though you haven't even read this yet; you feel so strongly about this that your displeasure is traveling into the past to prevent it from happening.

What did I take over 200 pics of? Barnaby Bright at Rockwood Music Hall Stage 2. I was doing merch of course so had to get there early. The show was at 7:00 I figured 6:15 was early enough to get there before doors. As I was crossing Allen Street I heard my name called, it was Fred. We walked down Allen and we heard our names called, it was Coco. Yeah this was a home game. I was also meeting Erika and Arthur there and was supposed to save them seats. I was doing merch so I could go in early and grabbed a table. But they let everyone else in before I was even settled. Coco sat up in the Statler and Waldorf seats but Fred joined me. Then I had a tap on my shoulder and got a kiss from a woman. I had to ask who it was; it'd dark in Rockwood. This actually happens a lot. It was Isabel. She and Gene and Chris were there. Then Marty came over and said hello. This was a very much a home game. Gene and Isabel were the ones that told me to check out Barnaby Bright.

As soon as I was settled I went to the Green Room to check in with Nathan and Becky. It's been a year since I've seen them; that's the longest since we met. That meant I got extra big hugs from them. Hey there are occasional perks to being me. Did I mention I was doing merch? Did I need to mention I was doing merch? That's why I had to check in with them.

I rejoined my table, it was just Fred and me then and saving seats for Erika and Arthur when Shonda joined us. We didn't know Shonda but we had enough time to talk that now I do. We talked about music of course. She asked me what the next show I was seeing at Rockwood was. I checked my phone and saw it was http://jokroger.com/wordpress/. Shonda asked, "Is that the Jo Kroger I know?" I couldn't actually answer that question but we figured out that it was. It's a very small world.

Barnaby Bright put on a great show as always. I need to find a new way of writing about bands. I wanted to say they combine great music and fun but I realize I always say that. Well not always, just for the bands I love. It might seem like I love everyone but it's far from true. But why should I go see a band I don't love? A fun thing about doing merch is I get to hear what other people think of the band. So I get to be reminded about how great Becky's voice is. Of course that's now how I would put it. I'd say what a great singer she is. There's a big difference. Having a great voice is possessing a great instrument, being a great singer is knowing how to play it. Becky is a great singer. My favorite voice (in a totally different sense) is their haunting voice. These are two of the sweetest people you will ever meet and they write some of the creepiest darkest songs you'll ever hear. They also have lots of upbeat happy songs. Sometimes they even combine them as when they mashed together an ancient Scottish dirge with Radiohead. No I am not making that up.

During the show they mentioned that they saw Caleb Hawley in the crowd. They must be vampires who can see in the dark. But when I turned around to see I saw Kevin. He was in better light. So I was sitting with Erika, Arthur, and Fred, oh and new friend Shonda, Kevin was nearby and my other friends in the balcony. You can't beat hearing great music with friends.

The waitress came by when I was deeply concentrating on the music and left the check. I had given her my credit card when I ordered my drink. Near the end I reached for it and saw it was filled out. It was Shonda's not mine. Mine was nowhere to be seen. That got me nervous. Why didn't she bring mine? When she came back to get everyone else's check I asked about mine. She asked for my last name. She was not back by the end of the show. I had to race to the back room to do merch. I asked Fred to tell her where I was. About half an hour later she came back with my check and my card. She said she was busy with the next show and she knew that I'd be around a while. I didn't complain but that was not right.

I sold more merch than is usual for a Rockwood show. It's not a good place to sell merch. The Merch Table is in the back room and many people, maybe most, don't even leave via that door. It's further from the subway. They had the Beta version of their new CD, This is Life. It's still being tweaked.

I hung around for quite some time selling merch and hanging out with people. There were these two young women who had seen BB the night before and bought a CD but didn't get it signed. They asked me if Becky and Nathan would sign them. I told them of course, gave them a sharpie, and pointed them in the right directions. They came back and said that they were talking to people and didn't interrupt. I told the women that signing CDs was part of the job and why they get paid enough to maintain the extravagant folk lifestyle and gave them permission to ask for an autograph. They were too shy. So I went over to Nathan, pointed them out, and said these lovely women would like your autograph. He got Becky and that did the trick.

After catching up a bit with Nathan I finally said my goodbyes and headed home. I made nice time. Then I made my extravagant folk lifestyle dinner of macaroni and cheese.

It's St. Paddy's day today and I have an Irish music double header tonight. AIR and the Yanks at the Lincoln Center Atrium at 6:30 then Three Pints Shy at Bar Nine. Seth is in that band. Anyone want to join me for one or both?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 17, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!