I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 05, 2016 - 1:20 p.m.

A Blogger Walks into a Bar

I got a phone call at 6 AM from the school I'm no longer teaching at telling me that school was opening late today. I'm still tired. I got to bed late too, that did not help.

I've been making a concerted effort to reconnect with people. It is a coincidence that some people have been reaching out to me? I don't know I do know that last night I met Marc for the first time in ages. I met Marc in the late eighties. He was the one that brought me into our Rotisserie Baseball league. For years we were partners on the same team even though he moved out to Albuquerque for a while. When he came back east he took over someone else's team so now we are league rivals not partners. But that was not a reflection on our friendship. But as happens we drifted away. He lives in the Lehigh Valley but for some times has come into the City a few days a week for work. He asked if I wanted to get together after work for a drink and I said yes. Obviously the drink was not the draw. We met at a bar right by the Port Authority where he catches his bus. So last night I was sitting in what Marc describes as a dive bar having a drink, a diet coke. I asked them to put it in a dirty glass. Does anyone else get that reference? Marc didn't I think it's from Bugs Bunny among other places. My best guess is that Yosemite Sam ordered milk and when everyone gave him a look he said, "and put it in a dirty glass," to show he was tough.

After Mark's bus left I went home. I was looking forward to garlic-potato-sausage soup. I got ready to make it. I went to chop the garlic. Every clove in the bulb was rotten. I went to the other four bulbs I had, they were all rotten. It wasn't like these have been sitting in the house for months. I bought them last week. I ended up changing plans and having a cheddar bratwurst. It was good but not what I wanted.

Every day I post on Facebook links to Wise Madness entries from 5, 10, and 15 years ago. I got that from Scientific American which has a column 50, 100, and 150 years ago posting items from the magazine that long ago. I wonder if any of My Gentle Readers knew that. Last night my entry from five years ago was mainly pictures. One picture was wrong; I had posted the same picture twice. I went to fix that but when I looked on Picasa it wasn't there. So I looked on Facebook where I usually repost the photos. The entire album wasn't there. I eventually found it on Picasa, but realized that I should post the pictures on Facebook. The problem is that they aren't on this computer. But then I realized I could download them from Picasa web albums then upload them on to Facebook. I'm going to start doing this more often. These were from back when I had a real camera. The pics were good. They got an immediate positive response on Facebook. This seems like a win all around.

This is going to be a very short edition of Wise Madness. I have all these political topics to write about but when I imagine myself in My Gentle Readers' place I find that they will not persuade anyone, just harden their attitudes when they disagree. On some of the topics I haven't found the key to writing about them yet. The ideas are in my head but not the way to transport them from my mind to yours.

I almost forgot I reconnected with someone else last night; I got a phone call from Katrina. I have not spoken to her since June. Before then we had been talking more days than not. I decide to reconnect with people and somehow they start reconnecting with me.

Tonight I'm going to see Kristin Andreassen at the House of Love Concerts aka Amy's house. Kristin's going to have her kickass quartet, Herself, Jefferson Hamer on guitar, Alec Spiegelman on bass clarinet and whatever else he's playing, piano, pedal organ, flute, whatever else he plays, and Stephanie Coleman on fiddle. If there's still room, you should go. It's one of my favorite house concert series and Kristin's one of my favorite musicians. It's going to be fun.

I set a new record. Spell/Grammer check found just one error, I missed a comma. And I didn't make any mistakes in this addendum either!


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 05, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!