I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 14, 2014 - 12:58 p.m.

Bang the PATH

OK, I have to figure out what I did yesterday. I better refer to my external memory. I see some photos I took. I guess that's where I was. I'll make believe I remember now.

Last night I went to see the Bangs Collective that best band that isn't officially a band. It's Jo Kroger, Caitlin Mahoney, and Kat Quinn. I see them all individually, and they often sing with each other on their solo shows, but on special occasions they do a show as a trio. What makes the shows special is their harmonies. They go so far beyond 1-3-5. They harmonies are never fixed within a song. They don't harmonize to sound pretty but as a means of expression.


The lighting is odd at the PATH Caf�.

This was an unusual show for them. It's actually more of a rehearsal for a wedding gig they are doing. The majority of their songs are shall we say, not wedding appropriate. These three lovely young women have a large number of sad songs, though not as many as they think. So they had to supplement their repertoire with happy and romantic songs. I was going to say classics but one of the happy songs they did was Happy. How good are they? When I hear the original I throw things at the radio or the speaker or wherever it is coming from. When they performed it I actually enjoyed it.

They did do some classics like the Ronettes Be My Baby but they realize that a female harmony trio covering a female harmony trio does not exactly break new ground. I have often thought they have a Wilsonian sense of harmony and they did the Beach Boys God Only Knows. A great harmony song, maybe the greatest, but having three women does it transforms it. They did not try and recreate the original arrangement. But best of all is when they do songs that we don't think of as harmony songs like Angel of Montgomery OK there is John Prine backing Bonnie Raitt but it's never about the harmonies and it's just on the chorus.


Caitlin


Jo


Caitlin

They did do some of their own songs. Like I said they have more appropriate ones than they admit. Kat especially has some great love songs. She did her still untitled song that I suggested she call "A home for you" but due to a typo I now call "A Hole For You." She also did Kind of Brave which means I threw a paper airplane. I made it out of the beer list. But I was too far away and I knew it would curve and ended up too far from them. It went right past Caitlin but Kat never saw it.

OK in the course of typing this I misspelled all three names at some point. I typed Joe,, and Kaitlin and even managed to misspell Ms. Quinn's first name, Cat I mean Kat.

It is sad not having a brain.

After the show I said hi to them. Somehow in that tiny place I missed Jo. I looked for her. I feel I was shorted a hug. Jo you owe me one. I have a secret plan for them to have a viral video. Want to hear it? Well you won't. What part of secret don't you understand?

I had a fancy dinner at papaya dog or king or whatever it's called on 4th street.

Oh I forgot to tell you about my commute. the PATH Caf� is on Christopher Street, not far from where the Christopher Street Coffeehouse was. I can get there fast. I left a bit late because a friend was having a crisis and I as helping her deal with it. Then when I went to switch from the to the a woman on the stairs decided to walk super slow then come to a dead stop. Then she went on at normal speed and we just missed the train by a second. she could see the train was there? Instead of hurrying she slowed down. Why did she do that? Then there was a 15 minute wait for the next train. I got there 18 minute late. I am not sure what time they actually started. I might not have missed much. They had a two hour slot. That was good.

Is it wrong that I often have homicidal fantasies about people on the subways? On Thursday I see a train on the platform from the stairs so I raced down them and was blocked from the door by two people who thought that was a good place to stand. I had to go around them and just managed to get a arm in. The conductor let me in. What bothered me is that the people blocking me looked at me like they were annoyed that I ran around them. I'd have apologized in their shoes even if I felt I did nothing wrong. I would know I inconvenienced someone. Now 99% of the time that's exactly what happens. I bumped into a few people the last couple of days and every time we both apologized. Most people are nice. that's what makes it OK to kill the rest.

On Facebook I was linking to an old blog and Sharon made this comment.

Put that in the quotation section at the top of your blog: "You just have to not give up."
I told her I can't quote myself it would sound egotistical. But I can quote Sharon quoting me! Now you think I'm both brilliant AND modest.

Know what else I am? Hungry. I better make breakfast. I'm thinking eggs, Taylor Ham, and cheese on an English Muffin. Sorry I got it from Trader Joe's so it's a British Muffin. Is that all? Let me go through my blogging check list.

  • Music ✓
  • Commuting ✓
  • Food ✓
  • Idiot Story?
Damn I forgot to tell an idiot. story. I'm such an idiot.
  • Idiot Story ✓


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 14, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!