I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 31, 2015 - 1:02 p.m.

Thank God I'm an Atheist


I didn't do much yesterday and planned on writing politics but now I'm not sure. There's stuff I get all worked up about that I pretty much no nobody else is going to care about. I'll see how this goes.

Yesterday was therapy. I sang her The Tensor Song. That's my recited than sung. There is a recording of it but I know it from the book, The Demolished Man and only lyrics are given it. She has heard me sing though. I make her earn her money. A friend is someone I don't have to pay to listen to me sing. Some of my musician friends have said very kind things about my singing. It makes me feel good. Either they actually think I'm no that awful or they love me enough to put up with my singing. Either way I win.

I then went up to my PO Box. I got my insurance card! Last year I never opened the letter with the card. Sometimes anxiety is a bitch. Make that all the time.

Ugh. I bought bagels and forgot to freeze them. I'll do that as soon as I'm finished with that. I hate when I do things like that. I love myself but I got a lot of flaws too. Good thing I'm cute.

I took the chicken for dinner out too late. I could have put it under running water to defrost it but I also didn't feel like having chicken again. So I made myself a grilled cheese sandwich. I realized that I never made it right before. All of a sudden it hit me that there's supposed to be butter and I never used that. When I had a toaster over I just used that. Then when I got the George Forman Grill I used that. But I would just put the cheese between the bread and heat it. This time I buttered the bread first and cooked it on a skillet, butter on the outside. How did I manage to screw up cooking the simplest thing in the world my entire life? Oh right, I'm an idiot. Duh. It came out so much better. Oh and of course I put Taylor ham in the sandwich too. My make do dinner was delicious. I also made mashed potatoes. I started them after I finished the sandwich. Sure I know that's not traditional but I was hungry and didn’t want to wait. A great thing about being a grownup is being able to eat like a child.

This is becoming a cooking blog Mel you happy? That's what you said you wanted.

I got my Fantasy Baseball draft list in and left off one of my key players, Chris Davis. I didn't notice till the roster was posted online. I'm pretty sure that what happened was that I accidentally deleted it. The one thing I hate about this computer is that the curse moves around on its own and things get selected without me doing anything. So I'm sure his name was selected and then when I typed in the next name his disappeared. Ugh. I asked for mercy from the league commissioner. Without him I'm keeping 12 players out of 23. That's a lot.

OK I'll go with the original thing I have written down to talk about not the bigger global issues it morphed into. I don't like online atheists. I don't mean people like me that are atheists that have an online presence. I mean the atheists groups and organizations. The Richard Dawkins Foundation is actually more likeable than most. I "like' them on Facebook and most of their posts are good. Most are about science or social policy. When they discuss atheism it's usually from a positive standpoint, saying what's good about atheism, not putting down religion. On others that seems to be most of what they do. I unliked "The Freedom From Religion Foundation" as they were too bigoted. The straw that broke the camel's back was when some governor did something they didn't approve of, I didn't either, they referred to him as "Catholic Governor ___________." That' just wrong. What he did was wrong, the fact that he was Catholic was not germane. It would be like saying 'Atheist Ayn Rand decried the welfare state" I don't like what said either and she was an outspoken atheist but the one has nothing to do with the other. When I wrote to the president of the Freedom From Religion Foundation he said he didn't care. He thinks it's fair game to attack religion that way.

I am now a member of the Facebook group Atheist, Agnostic, and Nonreligious. It used to be fine now it's becoming scary. There are anti-Muslim rants that are not criticized but cheered on. People talk as if all priests were pedophiles. It's getting downright nasty. I'm going to show you some of the posts.

  • WHY IS RELIGIOUS PEOPLE SO OPPRESSIVE AND FREETHINKERS ARE HAPPY?
  • Nothing more funny and horrifying then this...

    http://youtu.be/ZXbwmINpGJA
    African Pastor Explains Gay Poo-Poo Eating
    Hes fucked in the head.

  • Has anybody heard of three atheïsts who blew themselves up in the Netherlands?

    Well I Didn't and I live here since the day I was born😀

OK that’s enough. I am staying in the group because sometimes there's something I want to hear about. And it's good to know what's going on. Nicholas Kristoff recently wrote an article defending evangelicals, A Little Respect for Dr. Foster He said to not judge them from a few vocal representatives,

That’s partly because some evangelical leaders were intolerant blowhards who give faith a bad name. Jerry Falwell and Pat Robertson famously blamed the 9/11 terror attacks in part on feminists, gays and lesbians, and doctors who perform abortions.
Atheists need to remember that other people will judge atheism on their behavior. I am an unequivocal atheist. But more than that I'm a rationalist. I'm not against religious people. And I even think religion has a net bad effect on society. But people are not religious out of malice. They aren't stupid. And it's stupid or malicious to say otherwise.

Now it's late and I haven't eaten. Time for breakfast.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 31, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!