I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 15, 2013 - 10:54 a.m.

There was some music too

I have to grade tests, write a eulogy, go to therapy, and then a memorial service today. I better get writing.

I have to rant for a second before I get to the story of my day. This morning on the WfUV Question of the Day somebody suggested "This Land" and they played it, but not Woody Guthrie's version, not Arlo's, not Pete Seeger's. They only play one version of it, the version that isn't folk, Sharon Jones's. I joined the station because I could hear folk music. The programming was called City Folk, now they are reluctant to play folk unless it's already a crossover hit.

Last night I went to Gene & Isabel's house aka Courthouse Concerts to see Raina Rose and The Lords of Liechtenstein.. I should just get a subscription to the series, I never miss one. Too bad they don't offer them, they know I'll keep going to all the shows without it.

For the second Sunday in a row Chris picked me up and drove me to where we were going. We were the first ones there, we beat the talent. That's what usually happens. Chris never misses the shows either. One of these days I'll get my name on one of the seats, one of the seats from Shea Stadium.

FUV just played something by Adele and my reaction was, "that's that song that leaves my head as soon as it's over but they keep playing." I can recognize that I've heard it but that's it.

The same can't be said of the people at the concert. When Gene told me that he found an opener, The Lords of Liechtenstein I said "who?" Then he told me about them and I realized that I knew and loved them. I saw them at the open mic at Christopher Street, Erik Balkey raved about them before they played. He just used their names, Noah and Daniel Rauchwerk. They are pretty much kids. Noah is a freshman in college, not sure how old Daniel is but he can't have graduated too long ago.

. They are brilliant. Not brilliant for people so young, just brilliant. In a just world they'd be household names. They are funny and clever and not like anyone you've heard. They do have a bit of Smother's Brothers in their banter, just a hint of sibling rivalry. They can write, they can sing, they play the 8 string ukulele! Do you need to know anything more? Oh yes they have Budgiedome invitation, the sincerest form of flattery. I had lots of fun talking to them and their father, totally my people.

I get so happy knowing that such wonderful and talented young people exist. There aren�t just musicians like Anthony and Ariana but people carrying on the traditions in other ways like Brianne and Carolyn, both part of my Falcon Ridge family. Hey Brianne Noah is a film major at NYU. I told him that he and you can talk film at the Budgiedome this year. None of them are related to me but I can't help kvelling over them. It makes me happy to be around them.

Raina is totally my people, well person, too. But I knew that. She's a friend of Anthony's and I've seen her before including at Gene's house. It's been too long though because she had a kid. He was at the show with her husband. They are a touring family.

Raina has a new album that is not quite released yet but she had copies at the show, Caldera. I shortstopped it on its way to John Platt and listened to it last night. I'll take it over Sharon Jones any day of the week and twice on Sunday. Listening to her sing at the show I kept saying, "who does she remind me of?" Then it hit me. She reminded me of Raina Rose. Yes I'm an idiot. it's been a long time since I've seen her. I have my weird geek ideas about her voice but I have no idea if they have any validity. I need someone that knows more about spectral theory or math of sound than I do to know if it makes sense. To my ears it always sounds like there is someone harmonizing with her when she sings solo. My theory is that she has a very strong first harmonic, the tone exactly one octave above the fundamental and that's what I'm hearing, Musically that is not a harmony as it is the same note.

It isn't often that I'll analyze a voice, especially from someone with so much content to her lyrics but it struck me so strongly that I had to figure out what was going on.

I have saved the most important thing for last. If you know me well you know that I don't go to house concerts for the music. I go for the food at the pot luck. Gene's sister, sorry I forgot her name, is a culinary kindred spirit. I know I can depend on her for something I'll love. this time she made a main course for me, a quiche that a real he man like me can unashamedly eat. It had no stinkin' vegetables, it has all sorts of meat in it. I loved it. But that was not the piece de resistance. Hold on to your hats. Jess you better sit down before reading this. Isabel made chocolate bacon mini bundts. If she weren't already married to Gene I'd have proposed. I mean the music is nice but we're talking chocolate bacon mini bundts here. I think Beethoven would understand that no mere music can compare.

After the show Chris and I stopped at Trader Joe's. I got something new, dark chocolate covered marshmallows. Yes after the heavenly mini-bundts I still wanted more though I didn't eat them to very late. They are amazing.

Now I better eat and write and grade.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 15, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!