I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 03, 2013 - 10:58 a.m.

Superheroes They Come To Feast

This is becoming my anxiety's blog not mine. I have to do things today. I have to see an apartment I want in a neighborhood I want. But if I think about that I'm going to go catatonic. I have to sneak up on what I need to do.

Last night I checked out apartments in uptown Manhattan, UES, Columbia University, and North of Central Park. None had AC, all were a sweatbox, and two of three were walkups. I might have to live in one of them. OK. enough thinking about that.

I'm glad I have my office to use as a home base. I can recharge my phone there, otherwise it wouldn't have lasted the day. I had dinner at Wendy's. If I haven't eaten there in a long time I enjoy it quite a bit. I have very high saturation rates for many pleasures but not that one. Still it is shocking that it's a pleasure at all. I get the Spicy Chicken. I used to get the Baconator till I saw how many calories it has. The law that they have to post calories works on me. I've read that in general it isn't effective.

Last night when I got back to the House of Tom Bombadil I did laundry and to keep myself sane while doing that I watched The Avengers. That's new to Amazon Prime. I'm still on my Joss Whedon kick. A large part of that film features one of his favorite plot elements that I dislike, the fate of the world hangs in the balance and the heroes waste their time fighting with each other. They really need to listen to Willow who in a second or third season Buffy explicitly said how they have to ignore her personal stuff because they have to save the world.

Still the movie was lots of fun. Sure I can quibble. The Hulk looks fake. Much of the action is so fast that you can't really see what's happening. The big threat seems to be a motorcycle gang from outer space not an army. A real human army would cause a lot more damage. But it's Joss and it's Marvel Avengers and it made me happy. I always need reminding that I love movies. This is basic humanity. We love stories. We love heroes. We want to know that there's someone out there to right all wrongs and protect us against the ghoulies and beasties and things that go bump in the night.

I love when Bruce Banner comes in and Tony Stark goes "Finally somebody that can speak English" by which he meant science. Two of the four superheroes are super geniuses. I just realized that Joss didn't let his anti-science bigotry guide the plot.

I was rewarded for staying till the end of the credits. I expected I would be. Big silly movies like this with long credits should always have something after the last credit,

I also liked that the climax took place at Grand Central Station, a place I've been spending lots of time. When they were at the corner of Madison and 42nd Street they should gotten gelato and Espresso. It's much better than shawarma.

During the movie I didn't have the tightness in my chest. That is priceless.

Oh and somehow on a day when we didn't get much production the Nashional Batnoses took over sole possession of first place, a half a point in front of the hated TSC. We ae still at 68 points our high water mark for the season.

Even with my life in turmoil I find myself thinking about what's going on in Egypt. The difference between the US and Egypt is that we have such strong institutions that was can survive a bad president or a bad congress or a bad supreme court. Egypt doesn't have those institutions that can keep functioning and supply basic needs. Morsi is not George Washington. He got elected by a narrow majority and instead of focusing on rebuilding the nation he focused on consolidating power and advancing his party's agenda. It's hard to see a good way out of this. If he resigned and they started over forming a new government would be best but if he were the kind of person to do that he wouldn't have to resign in the first place. I dread the military taking over. Perhaps like the Philippines People Power can do the trick but unlike the Philippines there is nobody to take the actual reins of government. There's no popular leader. the people are united in what they are against, not what they are for.

OK. I really have to read scary emails. Maybe I can do it now. Wish me luck.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 03, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!