I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 06, 2012 - 10:41 a.m.

Put it in the Books

I have a meeting at 1 this afternoon. I can't waste time. OK I already wasted time but I won't waste more time.

Yesterday I went out to visit Aubrey in deepest darkest Queens. A block past his house and you are in Nassau. This is my old stomping grounds. It's always been an easy place to get to. No longer. I had to take the LIRR to Jamaica then the Q30 bus to the last stop. It took an hour and a half. Next time I'll just have him pick me up at the Queens Village LIRR and the entire trip will be 45 minutes or so. The bus ride was the killer.

I went straight from his house to the Met game. On public transportation that would have taken me over a hour. Aubrey drove me to the Little Neck LIRR station and I made it in half an hour. It's a disgrace that the city got rid of the bus to the station. If you don't live within walking distance you have to drive. That�s not the way to encourage people to use mass transit.

The Met game was great. They played the Phillies and on paper it looked like it should be pitching duel, R. A. Dickey vs Cole Hamills. Neither was sharp and it was a see saw battle. This is the Mets' 50th anniversary season and each ticket has a picture of a former met. Yesterday's was "The Glider" Ed Charles. He played platooned at third base on the 69 Mets. I told Alan that means that David Wright, the Mets' current third basement and by far their best player, would be the star of the game. I was prescient. First he drove in a run with a single to tie the score at 2-2. Then he hit a two run home run to put the Mets in the lead 4-3. Finally he won the game with bases loaded single with two outs in the ninth to give the Mets a 6-5 victory.

I just found out that this year we have access to the Acela Club at the stadium. Each level has its own club. On every level but the Promenade, top one, where we sit, everyone with tickets gets access to it. We didn't. Why? We are in the cheap seats and the Mets have always felt it important to put us in our place. Where are the obstructed view seats? The promenade, and It isn't a few seats in a corner, they are in every section, every seat within five or six seats of the aisle for ten rows back. Back at Shea stadium you could get a hot dog with cheese on every level but the upper deck. They had the hot dogs, and they had the cheese (for fries) but they refused to serve them. When I went to ask why I was actually told it was because we pay less for our seats. They are worse seats, further away. They just went out of their way to make things less pleasant for us. They access to the Promenade is totally inadequate. There are four small elevators, stairs, or you have to walk all the way into the outfield if you want to take an escalator. The Met owners would have loved to be feudal lords. Does this sort of thing happen at other stadia?

I thought I'd be at the New Bedford Summerfest this weekend but I'm not. Any suggestions on what I should do? I'm going to the Met game on Sunday. What can I do indoors and air-conditioned tomorrow?

I've had some difficult emails to deal with recently but read them. I still have to answer one but at least I'm reading them. I couldn't do that for a long time. I like tangible evidence that I'm getting better. No unread mail is a good thing.

OK I have a lot to do today, Christopher Street business, Budgiedome business, picking up a book I had delivered to school, returning a library book, and going to Bed, Bath, and Beyond. Maybe I'll hang out in my air conditioned office for a while. To do any of those things I have to make my breakfast and shower first. I'll eschew getting philosophical today.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 06, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!