I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 25, 2014 - 1:23 p.m.

Aragorn's Lesson

Well we have a winner. The cathartic Kathy Sands-Boehmer was the 100,000th viewer of Wise Madness since the counter started. I'm glad it was a friend. So now we are working on the second 100,000. Approaching the magic number has done wonders for my ratings. I had 114 readers yesterday more than twice the average, at least the pre-Falcon Ridge average. I have to admit I enjoy the affirmation. And how do I know it was Kathy? She took a screenshot.

I already have 35 readers today. Earlier in the year that's what I averaged for the entire day. I know my numbers will decrease as they always do post-Falcon Ridge. They will pick up again after NERFA.

I'm listening to the Decemberists on Spotify. I have always loved them but never seen them. I only have one album of there. This must all be corrected.

I went to Trader Joe's yesterday. I did an impulse buy of chocolate trip brownie cookies. I took bite on the subway. It has walnuts. I can't eat walnuts. Good thing Trader Joe's lets you return things no questions asked.

I think I found someone from the planet Twilo. First off who knows what I'm referring to? Carey put your hand down. I know you do. Who else? It's perhaps my favorite episode of The Dick Van Dyck show. Rob has dream that we are invaded by the planet Twilo. They take over human beings and when you are taken over you lose your sense of humor and your thumbs. Now we've all seen this. You post something totally ridiculous on Facebook as a joke and somebody thinks you are serious. Does someone really think that I thought a fair deserved to be destroyed by a Tornado because Rick Springfield was playing? Apparently yes. Of course perhaps she is acting like someone without a sense of humor as a joke that I'm not getting. Maybe I've been taken over. But I still have thumbs and I don't breathe water and don't have an eye in the back of my head. Most significantly I couldn't eat the cookies because they had walnuts. That's all from the DVD show too.

Did I write an entire paragraph that only Carey will get? Well I started this blog for her so if I did, I did.

Oh good it's warm today. I'll get to drink the iced coffee I made. I have to get some ice cream to put in it.

All of a sudden Spotify played a song I didn't like. I couldn't believe the Decemberists could be that bad. It's because it isn't the Decemberists, it's Bon Iver. Apparently it's done playing The Decemberists on Decemberists radio.

Hey I remember what I wanted to write about. A miracle

I am still reading LOTR. As I only read on the subway it goes slowly and it's a big book. A very big book. It's also one I know very well. I know LOTR the way ministers know the bible. I find myself relating real world situations to the book and visa versa. Yesterday I read one of my favorite passages.

'I had forgotten that,' said �omer. 'It is hard to be sure of anything among so many marvels. The world is all grown strange. Elf and Dwarf in company walk in our daily fields; and folk speak with the Lady of the Wood and yet live; and the Sword comes back to war that was broken in the long ages ere the fathers of our fathers rode into the Mark! How shall a man judge what to do in such times?'

'As he ever has judged,' said Aragorn. 'Good and ill have not changed since yesteryear; nor are they one thing among Elves and Dwarves and another among Men. It is man's part to discern them, as much in the Golden Wood as in his own house.'

So many of the world's problems could be solved if people would follow Aragorn's advice. So much of prejudice and bigotry comes from fear of change. People don't know what is going to happen next so cling to the ways of the past, and that includes the bigotry. "When I was young we didn't have to deal with blacks, gays, Hispanics, trans, atheists, foreigners, Muslims, women in positions of authority, etc." People see the change, fear it, and blame all that goes wrong on the changes. Hey I don't like change either. I'm with Crash Davis and think there should be a constitutional amendment banning the DH and artificial turf. I bet there are things you feel about that way too. But you can't extend it to people fulfilling their aspirations. You have to realize that good and ill aren�t one thing among gays and blacks and another among straight white men. People are to be judged by how they treat others not externalities. Don't ever quote me on this but even Yankee fans can be good.

It's a hard lesson to learn but an important one. And it's important to realize that many, I venture to say most of the bigots aren't bigots because they are bad people but because they fear the unknown. I bet all of you know someone whose prejudices you abhor but who is otherwise a good person. Keep that in mind. Harvey Milk is one of my heroes for advocating gays coming out. He knew that if people realized that people they love are gay they would have less fear and less hate. I have black, gay, trans friends that I always feel that everyone knew them only the worst bigots would stay bigoted. How could you possibly fear them when you see them smile? I know it's not that easy, that it happens in small steps. But in the long run it happens. Why do you think the majority of Americans are for same sex marriage now? People just need time to get used to the idea.

OK it's after 1 now and I have therapy today. I better make breakfast and shower. I have to leave in an hour and a half.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 25, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!