I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 23, 2013 - 1:19 p.m.

Rubin the Day

I'm going to be very busy today helping out at First Acoustics., yes I'm a venue slut, so I better write this while I can.

Last night I went to the Rubin Museum to see Aoife O'Donovan. No she didn't become Himalayan Art, they have a concert series, Naked Soul. I was very disappointed when before the show they announced that Aoife wouldn't be naked. It was her soul she was baring and the show is totally acoustic. I actually knew that as I've been there before but I was still disappointed. I've seen Slaid Cleaves and The Kennedys. I thought I might have seen Dar but I checked my old entries and the show was sold out. I love the venue but it's expensive, that's why I hardly ever go there,

I stopped to eat at Dogmatic then kicked myself when I passed Petite Abeille, one of my favorite restaurants. When I got to the Museum I found Fred there with his wife and friends. I went down ahead to grab a good place on line as they had to wait for people. In a little while Erika showed up. I had no idea she'd be there. I have not seen her since my birthday. We always say it's been too long since we've seen each other but that is ridiculous. Since I've been carless and out of Queens it has been tougher for us to get together. She pointed out that we met at an Aoife show. I just knew it was a Madison Square Park show. I should have known to ask if she were going. But all is good in the end as we sat together. In the front row of course. I was the first one on the line. I got to meet her boyfriend. And no I don't remember his name. When she started going with him I told her that I have to approve of him or he's history. No I'm not telling you the verdict. I have to tell her first. You're so pushy.

How was Aoife? The way Aoife always is, fantastic. I listened to John Platt's 'Sunday Breakfast on the WfUV archives during the day and he played Aoife followed by Madelaine Peyroux. I had never noticed how similar their voices were before. The reason I never noticed is they use their voices differently .Their voices feel like velvet to me but one of them made a gown of it and the other a pants suit.. They are both velvet but every different. Don't ask who is the gown and who the pants suit. I just thought of two things you can make out of velvet.

I was talking before the show about a musician I don't like at all. It isn't that he's bad, he's just boring. I lose interest immediately, my mind wanders. Where it goes has nothing to do with his singing. Aoife holds my attention. I was lost in her singing.

After the show they give a tour of the museum, Fred and company said they'd do that. and Aoife said that she'd hang around and that people should say hi. This is when I made a very bad choice. Erika asked me if I wanted to have dinner with her and her boyfriend. I told her that I had already eaten and wanted t take the tour. I recommended she go to Petite Abeille. We talked a bit then I went over to say hi to Aoife. I had to wait a bit. but said hi and got my hug. When I turned around I didn't see Fred. I didn't hear anyone say, "if you want to go on the tour follow me." So I went outside the theater to see if the group was forming there. I asked where the tour was and was told they had left but that they went to the sixth floor. I raced to the sixth floor, on the elevator, and they were not there. They ask the performer to take a tour of the museum before the show and find a work that speaks to them. They then show a slide of it as the show. They used to show it the entire show, last night it was a short presentation. The post concert tour goes to that work. I found it. and the tour wasn't there. I searxhed the entire museum and Fred was gone. I love Aoife but that hug cost me dinner with Erika, I would have had desert, or a trip through the museum with Fred. Instead I just went home.

I'll finish up with a video from the day before. It's another video that Katherine took. Don't tell me I'm old. I did this twice.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 23, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!