I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 24, 2014 - 11:32 a.m.

Let Them Eat Cake

I had nothing planned yesterday and considered just staying home all day. Then Heather called me to tell me that they were giving out free Ghiradelli sundaes at Grand Central Terminal. I thought I could resist that but I couldn't. Maybe because it's so easy to get to, the all the way.

Of course when I got there the sundae was microscopic. Not only that it was vanilla ice cream. If I am going to get Ghiradelli's I'm expecting chocolate. There was their new dark chocolate syrup on it. That's what the promotion was about. There was also this weird thing that I couldn't resist. A booth with a blower at the bottom that blows Ghiradelli minis wrappers around and you are supposed to grab as many as you can and trade them in for minis. I wanted one of the booths but Heather won't buy me one. They took a video of me at work.

I just won�t pass up a chance to look foolish. I don't know what's up with the color. My shirt is NOT maroon. When it was over I just dumped the wrappers back on the floor. Nobody counted. It was pointless but fun. I did get minis. That will come back later in the tale. We call that foreshadowing.

Then we headed down to Pomme Frites in the East Village. Heather had fries with eggplant mayo and I had poutine. I knew she might not finish hers I asked for some frite sauce too. That's free. I was right. Poutine is the most revolting looking food in the world but it tastes amazing.

I then took Heather home but didn't stay long then headed home. Notice I still hadn't had a main course. of course poutine does have protein, the cheese curds and gravy, but it still feels like a side dish. I so made garlic sausages when I got home. I ate my meal, desert, side dish, and main course, I three separate locations.

I know I had a subway passenger rant to make but I can't think of it. Of course there's a rant most times I ride the subway or bus. With so many people around one of them is going to be a jerk. The other day it was the woman that decided to wait on the top step and just stand there blocking my way down while I had to wait for all the people coming up the stairs to pass. She was visibly annoyed that I said excuse me and squeezed by her. She made no attempt to get out of the way.

I had an idea yesterday but I wasn't sure if it was totally insane. I wanted to talk it over and I did a bit with Jess who I called to make plans with for tonight. It ended up being moot but I would have liked to have talked about it. I was excite and needed advice and perhaps encouragement. Not being able to talk about it brought me down.

Tonight should be interesting. Kevin and I are driving up to Club Helskinki to see the only Crooked Still show we could get tickets too. They are doing just four shows in their reunion tour. This is the only one in New York state. It seems there are still tickets available for the Northhampton show. Anyone I can crash with there? If so let me know. Or if someone with a car wants to day trip it we can do that too.

I ate the minis before I went to bed. After I ate them I looked at the fine print on the wrapper and found that two had almonds in them. I don�t like almonds but there was not much so it tasted OK. But of more concern is that I might be afraid of almonds. After I went to bed I discovered that there was no might. My hand and back of my neck started to itch. It was dark so I couldn't see but I could feel bumps. I must have broken out in hives. It started to spread. I immediately took a Zirtac and 5 mg of prednisone. That fairly rapidly did the trick. No more almonds for me ever.

OK this is short and I'm going to be very busy the next few days so if I want to talk politics it has to be now. Paul Krugman's brilliant as usual column on Monday, Those Lazy Jobless got me thinking. Yes you should read the whole thing but I'll quote one part in case you are one of those Lazy Gentle Readers.

Last week John Boehner, the speaker of the House, explained to an audience at the American Enterprise Institute what�s holding back employment in America: laziness. People, he said, have �this idea� that �I really don�t have to work. I don�t really want to do this. I think I�d rather just sit around.�
When I compartmentalize my political thoughts I separate the economy from bigotry. Often that's helpful but often the two are intertwined. There is a bigotry based economics. Boehner demonstrated it there and it's common now. but it's not a new thing. Reagan displayed it when he told the lie about the welfare queen. It goes back far longer than that though. It's an infestation of cockroaches that comes back after you think you�ve eradicated it.

It's a bigotry closely related to other bigotries and they feed off each other. Part of it comes from the false perception that the poor are "those people" Nowadays that means blacks and Hispanics. In the past it was Jews, Italians, Irish, an ever changing cast of scapegoats. If you are one of those groups and speak the language of blaming the poor start hating your ancestors too.

Like all bigotry classism is based on ignoring some facts and distorting others. Please read the Krugman piece as he explains the fallacies and that's not my point here. My point is to point out that this is bigotry, not technical economics and that's how it should be addressed. Call a spade a spade.

Now for breakfast. I haven't made bacon and eggs in my cast iron skillet in a while I think that's the way I'll go.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 24, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!