I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 06, 2013 - 12:30 p.m.

The Friends Band

Late start today. So late I'm thinking of making breakfast first. But no, My Gentle Readers are more important than the danger of passing out from starvation.

Yesterday I had to work magic at the Last Homely House West of the Mountains. A new printer had to be added to the palantiri network. There was no documentation. I have never installed a wireless network printer before None of which daunted me. What did daunt me was that the first time I tried to log into the palantiri network something else demanded my attention and I didn't get to put in the secret password and it timed out. Then when I went to try again it listed other palantiri networks but not the one from Imladris. Then after some fiddling it didn't list ANY network. I did the standard thing, a hard reboot of the palantiri router. Then went to another room to see if the network worked on my computer. It still couldn't find it on the printer. So I just took a break. I came back in 15 minutes and the network was listed and now everything works like magic.

Last night I went to a concert super conveniently located in Brooklyn 8 minutes on the , the The Amigos Band at the wonderful Way Station, a Doctor Who Theme Bar.


To make things even better it's only a few blocks from Blue Marble Ice cream. I stopped there first for a hot fudge sundae.

I knew I wouldn't know anybody there as Patty Griffin, who I love, was giving a free concert as part of Celebrate Brooklyn. I've seen Patty a number of times but I've never seen the Amigos do a full show. Patty is great but her live performances often leave me disappointed. Emmylou is coming from a similar place and I always leave her shows exhilarated. My appreciation for Patty live is more intellectual than visceral.

The Facebook Event said the show started at 8 PM and I didn't think there would be a need to get there early. I was right. I arrived at 7:48 and got the best seat in the house. Well maybe there raised booths were better but I didn't want to take one of those when I was alone.

Being alone I was quite happy to hear somebody give me a "Hi." It was Sam. I knew it had to be someone in the band. It's funny I wrote Dave first instead of Sam. Is that because I often compare the Amigos to Moxy Fr�vous and Sam plays accordion?

The opening act was a pair of bluegrass musicians whose name has fled my brain. Justin and Eddie know them from Greensboro NC. The Amigos joined them on a song or two. I loved set. I'm listening to more and more bluegrass and old time.

This was the first extended show I've seen by the Amigos, two 45 minute sets. They did not get old at all. There was less Fr�vous style antics and more a focus on the music than the other times I've seen them. the music is worth focusing on. They have tremendous range ranging from traditional spirituals to Cole Porter, Night and Day to a New Orleans version of Blue Moon of Kentucky to their originals. which can be zany but can also be moving. They did a new song that just blew me away. It was the slowest hand clapping song I've ever heard, It was a slow heart beat. You won't hear anything like it anywhere else.

Justin on the right looks so much like Peter Tork I kept picturing them doing a Monkees Style TV show. Instead of living on the Beach in Malibu they'd live in Brookly, so it is automatically better. They have the personalities to pull it off too.

Between the opener and their first set I did something I never do, I ordered a beer! It was some sort of dark of course. The flavor was a bit weak but it was still good. But not as exciting as going to the bathroom.

Everyone wants to know if it's bigger on the inside than the outside. It is.

The Amigos play there every couple of months and I plan on being a fixture.

When I left the owner Anders (a miracle I remember his name) came over and introduced himself to me. I don't know why but I had to tell a fellow Whovian how much I loved the place. One of my friends told me about it but I don't know who (pun fully intended).

So you know how I had a complete breakdown and nobody knew about it. That's how I did it. I just did it today. I left out that I was miserable for much of the day.

I had anxiety about opening an email. I couldn't do it. I saw that Carey was actually on Facebook chat and asked her to hold my hand while I did. It wasn't easy but I finally managed it. It had the disappointing news I feared. I tried but there is no way I can go into more detail. It had financial impact but even more made me feel less appreciated. I was told to worry about being disappointed again soon.

Then Carey was called away so I didn't get to talk to her much. More disappointment. And then I felt left out by friends, Now this was something that I could have been proactive about and perhaps gotten myself included but when the anxiety/depression starts that becomes far more difficult.

What I could do was make sure I didn't stay home and mope. I made sure to go out and get my ice cream and my Amigos band. The Doctor Who references were pure gravy. I had no idea about that. The ice cream, Amigos, and Time Lord did the trick.

Am I fine now? Now. I'm still down about things. I have some alienation. I always shout my joy from the rooftops. Back in the early years of the millennium, the happiest time of my life, I often proclaimed here how lucky and happy I was. Things aren't so good now and I should perhaps say if not shout that from the rooftops too. I often get the impression that people think I'm in better happier and in better shape than I am. This blog is about showing my inner workings. Sometimes those aren't pretty.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 06, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!