I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 02, 2014 - 2:12 p.m.

Friends in Spanish

So you know how every time I sleep late I say that I never sleep late? I have to stop saying that. I woke up at 10:45 this morning. I don't like sleeping that late. I missed almost all of John Platt's show this morning. I would like to be eating now but instead I have to fulfill the even more basic need to write.

The only thing I remember from before I went out last night was that I watched another episode of Dirk Gently. This is my third and I still love it. This is the kind of thing that makes me think I'm from another planet. Nobody watched this show and I think it's a classic. How can I not love a show where the hero says of meeting a woman that he loves, "She's brilliant, she's beautiful, and she shares my love of fatty foods." I'm not as picky as Dirk. I'd take brilliant and beautiful even if she were a vegan. It might be best if she liked chocolate.

When that was over I headed out to Joe's Pub to see The Amigos Band. I was the release show for their new album, Diner in the Sky. This was my first time marching for the Amigos. I screwed up timing and did not get a good dinner. I just grabbed hot dogs. I got fries at the show. They don't enforce the $12 minimum at late shows. But now I'm distracted by fatty foods again. Let's get back to the story.

Since I was doing merch I wanted to get there early. There was actually no need. In fact there was nothing for me to do when I got there. I picked up my ticket and waited in the lobby. When Sam came out to talk to me he told me that the Stage Manager would set the merch up during the show. The problem is that the merch was being sold for the previous show so I couldn't set up. I've done merch there before and they never did that for me before. That was great.

I sat on the floor level where they always put the comps. Those are great seats. I shared my table with Noah's roommate, their friend, and Justin's fianc� Sasha. Yes I remembered her name! Do I get a cookie? Some fatty food?

I met the Amigos at NERFA. At the same conference they met the legendary David Amram. He adopted them. His credit on the album is "artistic mentor." He joined them last night on a variety of wind instruments and piano. That's what David does.

So what do the Amigos do? I like the way they said it in the introduction to Blue Moon of Kentucky; They honor songwriters they love by taking their music and putting their own twist on it. They mix and max for all corners of American music whether doing covers or originals. They make folk music swing. How many folk bands have as their basic instruments, guitar, accordion, and sax. There was less sax last night as Eddie has been touring with another band and only joined them on a few songs. But David picked up some of the wind slack.

They are all conservatory musicians who are not afraid of being silly. I noticed in the women throwing around the word "adorable." I have to get them together with The Lords of Liechtenstein.. We can have the "Bands of Adorable Young Men Who Wear Matching Outfits Festival." Carey would go to that. No Carey you cannot take them home with you.


Yes David is playing two whistles at once


There's Eddie

It was a great show and I love the new songs. I took one video and that was because it was something I am not sure you'll ever get to see. As a tribute to Pete Seeger they ended by playing This Land with David Amram who know both Pete and Woody. It's not the best quality but it sounds good.

After the show I raced out the door to do the merch. It was all set up as they promised. The show was a sellout which delighted me. These guys deserve to make it big. That did mean that there was a crush of people following me out the door. Many, perhaps most of them had the CD already so instead of a rush to the table there was a steady stream. My favorite were the people that never even heard the band before but just went to spend an evening at Joe's Pub and discovered that they loved the Amigos. It's hard not to.

Do other merch people get friendly with the customers like I do? I ended up having conversations with so many of them. It's part of the fun.

I didn't think I knew anyone at the show but then I saw Tara. It wasn't too surprising as Justin plays in her band and though I haven't seen her Sasha does to. I love the incestuous folk world. Through Tara it links to my Irish music world. Everybody knows everybody, or at least everybody knows somebody that knows anyone. No six degrees, it's more like two.

After the show I was invited to join everyone at the Library, the restaurant upstairs but I shocked myself by not going. You know there are few things that I enjoy more than a post concert dinner with fun people but it was already midnight and my tummy was having issues. I knew I wouldn't be able to eat. So I headed to the subway and was home by 12:45. My tummy issues resolved themselves immediately and in fact I was hungry so I ate a snack. So don't worry about that. Of course now I wish I had stayed. The Amigos and Tara are fun and I bet David is fun to talk to.

I had another effective self therapy session on the walk from Union Square to the show. I somehow managed the change in mindset that's been eluding me. I know it isn't permanent. I bounce all over the place but it's good to be able to go there at least some of the time. It's good to remember there's some Tom Bombadil in me. He's as far from anxiety as it's possible to be.

Old Tom Bombadil is a merry fellow,
Bright blue his jacket is, and his boots are yellow.
None has ever caught him yet, for Tom, he is the master:
His songs are stronger songs, and his feet are faster.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 02, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!