I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 28, 2015 - 1:13 p.m.

Civilization is a Good Thing

Hey it's exactly 10 AM and I'm writing .Yes I ideally want to start by 9:15 but most days I procrastinate till after 11:00. Now if I can only figure out what to write about. I have some ideas. Oh wait. I can't start writing yet. I forgot to read the Times. That has to come first as it might inspire me. I'll be back. Smoke 'em if you got 'em.

I was gone a long time, now it's 11:25. There was a lot to read and I didn't get past the Opinion section. There were links from the links to pursue. That all comes back here eventually.

OK so now back to something important, me. I had plans I was excited about yesterday, seeing Harpeth Rising but my ride canceled. I responded by vegetating all day. Then in the early evening I did my laundry I somehow managed to not do it since Falcon Ridge. I didn't know I had enough clothes to do that. If it wasn't summer I couldn't. But summer clothes are small, so it takes up less space in my laundry bags. I presort my laundry. I have to bags, one for whites and one for colors. Does anyone else do that? I find it's easier. It is more efficient to put things in the right place from the start than to later separate them. Of course I also make some mistakes; they are always of the same two sorts. The whites are essentially underwear and handkerchiefs. I either put t-shirts that are mainly but not totally white or underwear that isn't white, in with the whites. Damn, now I'm talking about the details of laundry.

As my music plans, which were also a social plan, was canceled and I could feel myself sliding into a bad mental space I did something about it. I am not a fan of internet concerts but Rebecca Loebe was giving a free one and I haven't seen her in ages and it was for her birthday and I adore Becca, so I watched it. There were technical difficulties, and I didn't have the fun of talking to other friends watching but it was still fun. I got to hear great music, lots of new songs.

The show started at nine and didn't end till after 10:30. Notice I never mentioned dinner. That's because I hadn't eaten. I ended up eating after 11:00. I made the simplest dinner I actually cook, it doesn’t require any preparation, hot dogs and boiled potatoes. Know what? It was great. They key is putting garlic salt and butter on the potatoes. I then had a chocolate ice cream sundae for dessert. Damn, I realized I had ice cream twice yesterday. I had an ice cream soda earlier. I like spoiling myself when I'm down but that's too much. I should have had clementines instead.

What did I do online after dinner? I don't know but it took till close to one. Then I realized I never put away my laundry. Lots of it was drying in the bathroom but the rest needed to be put away. The folding and putting away is my least favorite part of laundry. I almost didn't do it but I did.

Then instead of going to sleep I decided to get good about email. I worked my way backward and finally decided to slow the torrent. I unsubscribed from almost every list as I came to it.

Great now it's 12:30 and I'm getting hungry. So this is in a sense live blogging. I'm blogging about blogging in real time.

OK it's running late but I want to write about Khalid al-Asaad. Does the name ring a bell? What if I said Palmyra? No? Read this: Syrian Expert Who Shielded Palmyra Antiquities Meets a Grisly Death at ISIS’ Hands. He was the director of antiquities at Palmyra, a center of civilization in the ancient world. It is a world heritage site. He was born and spent his whole life there except when he went to University in Damascus to study archeology. He devoted his entire live to preserving and studying Palmyra. Then then Islamic State came. They destroy pre-Islamic sites as pagan. They sell off the portable treasures to finance their operations. What could be hidden was hidden from them. They killed Mr. al-Asaad because he wouldn't tell them where things were hidden. I don't know what kind of person he was. He was a member of the Syria's ruling Ba'ath party. I wouldn't be surprised if there were things about him that were terrible. But there was much to be admired too, the way he died shows that. He died because he thought that history and culture and beauty were things worth dying for. He didn't just say it, he acted on it. He died a philosopher's death as surely as Plato. He died because he believed in civilization. He was a humanist. He valued people and their accomplishments. The Islamic State is the opposite. They only value Allah. Mr al-Asaad might have been deeply religious I don't know. But he knew that people counted. He knew that all the things that make up civilization are important. That deserved me taking the time to write about. I hope it gets you to think about what you'd do in that situation. I hope I could do as well.

OK now I'm going to eat breakfast. It's already 1:07. What am I going to make? I guess bacon and eggs. Then I have to go food shopping. Tonight I'm off to see The Calamity Janes at Jalopy. If you want to hear some great old time music join me.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 28, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!