I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 10, 2015 - 11:16 a.m.

Said Red Molly to James

Before I write about yesterday I have to catch up with something I forgot to write about the day before, maybe two days before. I was discussing life after death with Katrina. A you should know I think there's no such thing, and in fact the notion is pure fantasy. Katrina disagrees. But that's not the point. The point is that she said, "I can't wait for you to die." Now that sounds horrible which is why I immediately posted that she said that on her Facebook. I can't resist. It was actually funny. She can't wait for me to die, and for her to die, so she can give me a "Nyah Nyah Nyah, Nyah Nyah" in the afterlife. And that's so unfair. I cannot have an equivalent gloat as since we will not exist after death I won't be around to gloat and she won't be around to gloat to. The best part is that we are comfortable enough with each other to talk like that. That's pretty much always what matters most to me.

Yesterday I had a busy day. I took the train up to my PO Box. I got a check that I need pretty desperately. Then I headed down to Heather's. I deposited the check while I was there. How? With my phone. That app makes my life so much easier.

Heather made me dinner and then we watched The Librarians. It isn't a great show but I enjoy it. I rarely want to throw things at the TV set. Oh and I have a crush on Lindy Booth. She looks and sounds very much like a redheaded version of Fred, Amy Acker's character on Angel. There is an Angel connection, Christian Kane, Lindsay on Angel is a regular.

From there I went to see Red Molly at City Winery. It was an APAP (Association of Performing Arts Presenters) showcase. I went as a representative of the Circle of Friends Coffeehouse. Jake emailed me the invite and said I could go as a CoF booker. My financial situation is such that I can only go to free shows. I didn't realize this was also a regular show so I could have just gotten comped by Red Molly. I am a long time part of Team Red Molly.

I got the invitation the day before. I had a plus one. That means my usual scramble to find someone to go with me. I asked 10 people to no avail. This always gives me angst.

I didn't know how an APAP show would work. Normally you get an assigned seat at City Winery but I just gave my name and didn't discuss seating. When I got there I found that I could sit anywhere in the bar area or the back. that worked out well as I was able to sit with Maggi, Carter, and Barbara, who were also there. We sat at the bar, the only seats with backs. I need that. I hate sitting on a stool.

I got there about an hour early and grabbed our seats. Then Laurie came out and I got to catch up with her. I used to see Red Molly all the time. I didn't have to catch up with Laurie. Now we haven't spoken since June and even then we didn't have much quality time. So this was great. Later I got some time with Abbie. Still need some Molly time.

This was a showcase for Red Molly's management company and there were other bands of theirs on the bill, Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens, and Catherine Russell. Naomi Shelton struck me as more soul that gospel. She wa good but not someone that is going to hold my interest for an extended set. I could someone else totally thinking she was the best thing ever. She has the good, just not my thing.

Catherine Russell was much more my speed. She's a classic jazz
Diva. She's an great singer dripping with stage presence. She could play the the Budgiedome any time. Still it's an odd paring her and Red Molly. Not many venues would book both. Carter would.

Red Molly is one of the bands I've blogged about the most. What do I have left? That fact that I keep coming back says more than anything I could write. Now they cover my favorite song, 1952 Vincent Black Lightning. Though it's not where they got the name, Red Molly is a character in the song. I was telling Carter how much I love it, yet again. And I went to illustrate the point by showing him this picture.

I made Carey wear my black leather jacket because as the song says, "Red hair and black leather, my favorite color scheme." I like looking at that pic while listening to that song. As always the song made me cry.

After the show I felt funny NOT doing the merch. What if someone asks a question the seller can't answer? I can answer all of them. Instead I did more socializing then headed home.

When I got home I had a hot chocolate. I wanted to be decadent and make it with milk not water even though the mix has milk in it. But that means heating the milk in the measuring cup. The cup was gone! The thief is gone but there are still people living here who don't get the idea that the thing in the kitchen are for all of us. They don't get to keep it in their room.

OK time to eat. still haven't decided what today's breakfast is. I am thinking something with the sausages I bought. Maybe an omelet. Maybe I'll do something I rarely do, make scrambled eggs.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 10, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!