I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 07, 2010 - 8:02 a.m.

Straight from Paris, Maura Kennedy

I am insane. I have a super busy weekend got home late last night, didn't go straight to bed, and now I'm up early. At least it gives me time for a short update.

Last night I got to see The Kennedys first show since Maura's triumphal return from Paris. It had to be the first. She came back Wednesday night and went straight from the airport to the WFUV gala. Then she slept most of yesterday and performed last night. You wouldn't have noticed it at all from watching her.

The show was at the Christopher Street Coffeehouse for its one year anniversary. My friend Meg Braun helped organize it and Pete and Maura did the first show there yet somehow this was my first time there for a regular part of the series.

Meg had to organize an event for work so she was late and Carolann hosted till Meg arrived. She not only hosted but was the first performer in the open mic. Her husband Mark Allen Berube performed too. One of the photos in the rotation on Mark's homepage was taken at The Budgiedome, the ultimate mark of my approval.

I was joined by Lori not LORi and George. We sat at the merch table. Did I need to mention I was selling the Kennedys' merch? That wasn't my most important duty. I had to feed the meter for Pete and Maura's car. It took me a while to realize it was ripping them off. It would only take three quarters and then gave time credit for only 2, which is only 15 minutes. When I realized what was going on I paid with a credit card and could relax.

The Kennedys performed as a duo then in the middle they each did a solo set. I enjoy them in every configuration

I have long ago used up everything I have to say about the Kennedys' performances. I see them almost every time they play, you know that I have to love them.

The plan was to make an early exit as Lori had to work today and I'm off to Atlantic City then SMAF. We knew that wasn't happening. We ended up staying for over an hour talking to Maura and each other and watching the entertainment that walked in off the street. First a pianist who gives lessons at the church came in and played the piano, harpsichord, and organ. Then someone came in and tap danced in the apse. He gives lessons at the church too so he knew it was a good surface. When all was said and done George drove me home. Now I have to go. I want to make breakfast before I leave. I did most of my packing last night. If you know me well please don't faint.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 07, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!