I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 16, 2012 - 10:05 a.m.

One, Two, Three, ... ,Linfinity

It's before 9 AM and I'm writing. I have met the Chronoklepts and won. Give me a cookie!

I had great plans for last night. Honor Finnegan guests at the Alphabet City Songwriter's Exchange were Carolann Solebello and Aaron Nathans. Not only are these three musicians I love. Not only are they three good friends. It was Carolann's birthday! Honor and Carolann are friends, I know Honor through Carolann and Meg, but Aaron is from a totally different part of my life and that added to the excitement. I had this circled on my calendar from the day it was announced. I bought a birthday babka for Carolann! The show was at 7:00 at Gizzi's Café in Greenwich Village. At about 5:51 Carolann posted on Facebook that it was canceled because the Café was closed. I was so disappointed. I called Carolann to wish her a happy birthday. I called Aaron to say how much I missed getting to see him. He came up here from Delaware for a show that didn't come off.

I then called Alan. Why Alan? A few days ago Alan called me and offered a ticket to last night's Knick game. I really wanted to go but of course couldn't. I figured he'd give it to somebody else but I figured I'd call just in case. A miracle, it was still available! This was a great plan B. I haven't seen Alan in ages, not since the baseball season ended. I was more excited about seeing him than the game.

I was excited about the game though because for the first time in ages the Knicks are something to be excited about. After years of spending money on overpriced free agents they found gold in the refuse pile. They signed undrafted Harvard grad Jeremy Lin. He was dropped by two teams. He was about to be dropped by the Knicks but was forced into starting duties by injuries. It is the best thing that happened to them in years. They haven't lost since he started playing. He scored at least 20 points and got least 7 assists his four games starting. He was the NBA Eastern Conference player of the week. He's a point guard that moves like a cat and he sees the entire court. He is the sensation of the NBA. It's called Linsanity. In fact there is a law that once you discuss him you must include as many puns on his name as possible. As I respect the law as much as Socrates I will follow it; Thus the title of this edition. As I said he went to Harvard, and got a perfect score on the Math SAT. He's Lintelligent. He plays the game with Lintensity. He Linspires the rest of the team and the crowd.

I have not seen such excited at Madison Square Garden since Patrick Ewing was leading the team. The place was full and everyone was cheering and totally into the game. This is the first I've gotten to watch him because the Knicks idiotic ownership is in a dispute with Time Warner Cable. They also own Cablevision and they can never easily make deals with sports team. Cablevision can never sign sports networks they don't own and MSG can't make deals with cable systems they don't own, without drama. They don't work and play well with others and the fans pay the price.

Lin live up to my expectations even though it was the first game he didn't score 20 points. In fact he only scored 10. That's partially because the game was such a blowout he didn't play that long. They were able to rest him almost the entire second half. He did get 13 assists and that's what I most wanted to see. The Knicks have not had a great point god in ages upon ages. I saw passes made that the Knicks haven't done since Mark Jackson left the team 20 years ago. He's a natural and deserves his Linstant success.

The question is how did nobody see this before? Why wasn't he given a chance? Is it because he's Chinese? He was born in the US but his parents are from Taiwan. Could people just not see a Chinese nerd from Harvard as a basketball player? I'm afraid that is what happened. It was Linsane reasoning.

Even though Lin was long since out of the game and it was a blowout Alan and I stayed to the end just to enjoy each other's company. It is my fault that we haven't seen each other. I'm still having those ridiculous issues. I know they are ridiculous but that doesn't mean I can overcome them. I just find it so difficult to make the step to do some things. In this case talk to Alan. I know he won't be judgmental but that doesn't help. Once I miss a call the pressure just built. I've done that with other people too. People I want to talk to.

I've talked about a major disappointment. I talked about something exciting. I talked about my problems. What's left? Food and health. I had a blast from the past and grabbed some KFC at Penn Station before the game. It tasted good but my digestive system wasn't happy. I was fine till the game was over but then ran to the bathroom. I spent half the night in the bathroom. Some of those 11 herbs and spices did not agree with me. I'll stay away from KFC for a while but I might try it again to see if this was just a coincidence.

Now I'll have breakfast and head to school. I finished this only three minutes later than I like.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 16, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!