I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-02-18 - 11:27 a.m.

Happy Birthday IDD

I went to the Knick game last night. The Knicks got off to an 11 point lead, guess what? They lost. They did have a chance to tie it with a last second three but it was off the mark. That is the typical Knick game. Get off to a lead, blow it, then just fall short at the buzzer. They aren't good but they are exciting.

One of the best things about going to games is spending time with Alan. He is the friend that I see the most often by far. There are times when between visits to Carey he is the only friend I see. I used to meet Roy for lunch but that is hard with my current schedule, the only day I'm really available is Tuesdays. I'll have to make an effort to have lunch with him next week. Maybe we can play bridge one night this week.

I was just reading Joy's diary. It is so easy for friends to hurt each other. Enemies can't really touch you but there are so many things a friend can do. He can say the wrong thing; he cannot say the right thing. He can talk about you; he cannot talk about you. A group of friends can make you feel left out. There isn't much you can do about it either. The only way to protect yourself is to not have friends and that is not as easy as it sounds.

Yesterday was the 7th Anniversary of the Idiot's Delight Digest. It is an email group for listeners to the greatest radio show in the world Idiot's Delight hosted by Vin Scelsa. The list was started by and run by a Frühead, Scott Perschke. The list soon became a forum on a wide range of topics most of which have nothing to do with the show. It is just a place where like-minded people can talk about what is on their minds. This is what a random issue of the digest is like.

Idiot's Delight Digest at Topica.com

----------------------------------------

Unsubscribe: [email protected]

Change to Digest Mode: [email protected]

Change to Messages Mode: [email protected]

******************************************

Isn't It About Time for a cup of eggnog?

By [email protected]

Neil's Let's Roll & Vin's Not Fade Away

By [email protected]

No Movie Weekend

By [email protected]

................

By [email protected]

Marshall Crenshaw and Kevin Salem - VU 12/14

By [email protected]

rufus thomas

By [email protected]

record shows

By [email protected]

a Yiddish joke

By [email protected]

top of 2001

By [email protected]

glam bands

By [email protected]

------------------------------------------------------------

Date: Sun, 16 Dec 2001 14:01:10 +0000

From:

Subject: Isn't It About Time for a cup of eggnog?

[email protected] wrote:

> Isn't it about time we wake up and smell the coffee, or is it smell the

> roses

> -- whatever you prefer.

>

> [snip]

>

> In my opinion America has done it again.

>

> Corporations have destroyed what for many of us once embraced as free

> form

> radio.

> [snip]

> OH STOP IT ALREADY!! SO MUCH DAMN NEGATIVITY IS NOT WHAT WE NEED TO HEAR

>

> NOW!!! IT'S CHRISTMAS FOR CHRIST SAKE!!!

>

>

You are right in so many ways. I don't think you will find many here

that will disagree that there our aspects of our capitalistic culture

that are crass and cheap. It's a theme that has been discussed many

times on the IDD. But unless we are forced to buy the stuff you are

referring to, I guess I can make it through the day.

I can't stand the prominence that crap gets in the stores too. There is

nothing organic or natural born in pop music that ever gets that kind of

attention. I know your theme is much broader than this. Greed is bad.

I think George Harrison may have tried to sum it all up in an interview

I saw recently. "It's all crap."

Have a nice day.

------------------------------

Date: Sun, 16 Dec 2001 09:32:03 -0500

From: "Tom Ucko"

Subject: Neil's Let's Roll & Vin's Not Fade Away

Bob Turba wrote:

"a few reviews of neil young's newest made me think about the black boxes on

the

planes that hit the pentagon and crashed in pa. has anyone heard if they

have

released the transcripts from these planes? my guess is they are still

analyzing."

It's been reported that it was news reports based on excerpts from the

transcripts, as well as the earlier about phone calls from passengers, that

formed the inspiration for Neil's song.

By the way, does anyone have a better recording of Let's Roll than the

128kbps MP3 I got from Aimster? I need it for a mix CD I'm making.

Bob Steeves wrote:

"Which brings me to something I've been thinking about. How long do you

think Vin will be on the radio? Will he fade, like Scottso, to an almost

honorary, but small presence (of course, what could be smaller than 4 hours

a week?)?"

I think the reality is that Vin has already "faded" away more than Scottso.

I'd guess Muni's weekday noontime hour on a commercial rock station has a

much greater audience than Vin's WFUV show.

Tom

--

Thomas D. Ucko

[email protected]

I count him braver who overcomes his desires than him who conquers his

enemies, for the hardest victory is over self. - Aristotle

------------------------------

Date: Sun, 16 Dec 2001 09:39:11 -0500

From: Nora Lee Mandel

Subject: No Movie Weekend

Busy with family stuff this weekend -- including Hanukkah and celebrating

that The Younger got in to Columbia "early D" (a phrase that David Kelley

seems to have invented on "Boston Public") so no movies, and behind on the

IDD.

---------------

Welcome back Kidrane -- are we all forgiven or something?

----------------

I was an official, card-carrying member of the Gene Pitney Fan Club when I

was in junior high. His mother ran it.

I have his Greatest Hits on vinyl and a bunch of his singles on '45. "He's

A Rebel" was one of the first 3 '45's I ever bought and was quite struck

that he was the songwriter. While "24 Hours From Tulsa" reduces me to

tears at every hearing (and was imitated in a weepy song by a Scottish band

that I'm blanking on right now (Del Amitri? song about purposely missing a

bus to go home to Significant Other to stay and cheat instead); Darren

Devivo plays the song a lot).

But other than the songs already mentioned, I also adore "I'm Gonna Be

Strong" which is like a tribute to Roy Orbison. I got it as a freebie with

my subscription to the now defunct competitor to Cash Box magazine "Music

Business" (hmm, if I'm remembering the title correctly). That was part of

his "comeback" post-Beatles, including "Last Exit to Brooklyn" -- which of

course I sing whenever I see that sign, much to the Grouch's annoyance --

for 30 years now.

But then here's another reason he's the Grouch -- he came in from his

weekly poker game at midnight Thursday and I was up watching (and taping)

the Tonight Show. "Who's that?" he asks. Me: "You really don't know who

that is?" "No." "Russell Crowe." I don't think he even knew who that was

with the name.

------------------

PBS/BBC's "David Copperfield" playing last week and into this week with him

grown-up is the version with the kid who plays Harry Potter.

-------------------

As to buying charity CDs. What I meant is that when I buy them in the

bargain bins in Sounds, or Academy, or Princeton Record Exchange, etc.

nobody gets the charitable dollars. They were probably review copies or

press freebies or whatever that entered the gray economy. I just felt too

guilty to do that for 9/11 charities. Similarly, I went into Barnes &

Noble fully intending to buy the two 9/11 tribute photo books and couldn't

find either. Have they sold out?

Thin pickings the 2nd week in a row with CD shopping:

Dayna Kurtz - not with the song Vin's been playing but World Cafe has been:

"Tortilla Soup" soundtrack as "Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps" has been used in

a coupla movies this year and sticks in my head; and

another Yazoo field recording of early Americana music.

------------------------------

Date: Sun, 16 Dec 2001 10:52:12 -0500

From: "."

Subject: ................

Isn't it about time for what, Kiddo?

I read the whole damn thing, and I didn't get it. I'm not intellectual

enough, you know. The only part that I think I got was not liking corporate

greed and taking advantage of tragedy. Hell, a while ago I said I hoped

they wouldn't turn the wtc into elvis. After that, it was alot of words.

Do you read ours, or scroll them?

Speaking of flags, I did something the other day, and still don't know what

to make of it. I've noticed all these tired flags out there, and wondered

about how do we ever take these things down, when do they come off the cars,

when do you unwrap yourself from the gut reaction that put them up?

Well, partially, the flags are just doing it themselves. While I was

thinking it would be neat to think they were committing suicide hearing John

Ashcroft on the radios, I think they're just falling off the cars. It's

funny that it is now a common occurrance out here in the 'burbs to pass

flags in the road.

I stopped on I-95, couldn't help myself, the other day, and walked a short

spell up the median between the two sides of the highway. Over just that

little bit, I collected about a dozen of them. One nearly new, another

almost only half a flag, fabric, plastic, nylon, clean and dirty.

I'm not really sure what to do with them, there was just something

fascinating about taking a walk, and finding so many. I then got in the

car, and there was an interview with one of the survivors of the 'friendly

fire' accident last week. He talked about the mission, about the 3 men who

died, his injuries ("blew out my right ear drum, most of my left, not

bad....") and what he'd do next. He said, calmly, without any braggart

sound in his voice, simply....go back, rebuild our unit, and get back to

work. I guess, all bits of political division aside, I'll keep them for

him, and the good folk who proudly flew them, nevermind the corporate

machines that so quickly wove, printed and sold them for profit.

And, for folks like Vin, and Frank Rich, and Jeff, Bruce, Jordan and folks

who still also stand bravely reminding us of other equally important parts

of that flag.

Just to be a bit more cranky, I'm still pretty annoyed with Idiots Delight.

Either the show sucks mostly, or it just doesn't have enough time. I'm

inclined to the latter, I think Vin doesn't fully know how to fit himself

into that short a time period. Once again this week, I enjoyed the guest,

he was interesting and funny, and there was a nice quality to the way he and

Vin related to each other.

But then you lose 2 hours of a 4 hour show..., lose the first 20 minutes to

news and vin chatting with his engineers, lose 45 minutes to discussion of

the coffee machine, or the missing liner notes on a CD, and the goatee of a

staffer and you end up with a 4 hour show and about 8 songs. The endless

Vin chatter, which was always part of what I loved about the show, now only

grinds into my brain as it eats away the allotted time. And then he

obediently gets himself right off the air at midnight so that a taped show

can start.

It just ain't what it used to be. I'm still listening, and I thank Frank

for his easy to use link to some other Iddiots to chat with during the dull

bits in the show, but, the show just isn't great these days. He needs more

time.

------------------------------

Date: Sun, 16 Dec 2001 11:35:52 -0500

From: "Eliot Wagner"

Subject: Marshall Crenshaw and Kevin Salem - VU 12/14

Saw a wonderful show at the Village Underground a few nights ago:

Marshall Crenshaw, with Kevin Salem opening for him.

First a few words about Kevin Salem: he' s really very good. Kevin

was Freedy Johnston's guitarist until ''95 or so, when he came out

with his first album, Soma City (now out of print except in Japan,

Kevin said) and appeared on ID. Although his first two albums have

a fuzzy, buzzy relentlessness about them (more BTO than Black

Sabbath), Kevin's band on Friday had more of a kind of mid-70s

feel to them.

The first song that they played (I don't keep set lists, my memory

ain't the greatest anymore and I don't think Kevin mentioned the

name of the song) sounded like something that would have been a

album closing 8 minute track if this was still 1974. Given that it is

2001, the song was of normal length. Also giving the band some

mid-70s color was the keyboard player, who sounded like he had

heard Dave Mason's first album a few times. The line-up of guitar,

bass, drums and keyboards was fine for most everything except for

some songs from Soma City (especially Amnesia, a personal

favorite) which really needed a second guitar.

Kevin Salem really rocked, and even though he apologized in

advance to some folks sitting right in front of the stage for "the

hearing that they were about to lose," wasn't overly loud. A real

top notch act.

After a too long intermission (needed at the Village Underground,

the only place on the face of the earth where there is a line for the

men's room and no line for the ladies' room), Marshall came on by

himself. He did three songs solo and then brought up the band

"His Group of Guys." They proceeded to go through the Marshall

Crenshaw catalog and did just about every song that you could

have wanted them to do. They worked up to two songs with

Marshall strapping on his gold, loud electric guitar, the last one

being Television Lights (I know that many people think that TMD

was the best song off of #447, but to my mind -- and my ears --

Television Lights was the best).

And that would have been the end of the set except that Marshall

said that he was booked into Mohegan Sun next month and had

come up with a tribute to tuxedo-clad lounge singers. He switched

to bass, and lead the band through Bobby Darren's Beyond the

Sea, had another band member do the vocals on My Way, and

finished up with The Beat Goes On ("Sonny Buono would have

been President today if he was still alive," declared Marshall).

Of course there was an encore, and of course it was Someday,

Someway. Just a great evening of music.

Eliot

------------------------------

Date: Sun, 16 Dec 2001 11:42:10 -0800

From: "Jordan S. Hoffman"

Subject: rufus thomas

if you've never seen the film "Wattstax" Rufus Thomas gives a fantastic

performance. . . .

------------------------------

Date: Sun, 16 Dec 2001 11:44:55 -0500

From: "ron geberer"

Subject: record shows

I wonder how many of you guys know about the used record (both LP and CD)

shows that go on at the Holiday Inn on 57th Street the third Saturday of every month? There are both rare collectors' items

and new stuff at a reduced price, not to mention videos and the occasional boot (I didn't say anything!) There is something

from everybody--the last time I was there, I bought both Coleman Hawkins and the Traveling Wilburys.

 

Raanan Geberer


Send and receive Hotmail on your mobile device: Click Here

------------------------------

Date: Sun, 16 Dec 2001 11:48:15 -0500

From: "ron geberer"

Subject: a Yiddish joke

It seems that Morris and Harry, both about 80 years old or so, were watching the

news from Afghanistan on TV, and the newscaster mentioned the bombing of the Tora Bora caves. Morris turned to Harry

and said, "Ich vaist vus ist `Torah,' obed vaist du, vus ist `bora'"?

 

Raanan Geberer


Join the world's largest e-mail service with MSN Hotmail. Click Here

------------------------------

Date: Sun, 16 Dec 2001 12:04:32 -0500

From: AdamBernstein/TaniaKendrick

Subject: top of 2001

The only new record I freaked on this year was One Nil - Neil Finn.

AS for reissues - Charles "Baron" Mingus - West Coast 1945-49

(Don't tell anyone it came out in 2000.)

------------------------------

Date: Sun, 16 Dec 2001 11:32:54 -0500

From: Steven Lederman

Subject: glam bands

I was out with some friends (and friends of friends) last night and got

into a discussion with one of the younger women about music. When I

mentioned my tastes spanned a broad variety, she asked i I liked glam

bands. I assumed she was referring to Bowie, T Rex and the rest. Nope -

it seems Poison and Motely Crue are now considered the glam bands. A ten

year age difference never felt so distant. :-)

****

Coldplay's "Parachutes" came out summer of 2000. I''ve seen it on a few

Best Of lists and I remember it charting last year. Still working on my list.

TTFN

Steven L


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-02-18
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!