I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 30, 2014 - 11:09 a.m.

A Horvendile Festivus

How can I get 92 more people to read Wise Madness today. Why? because I'm 92 readers behind last November's readership. I like to think my readership is expanding not contracting. I could write two entries today. That might do it. Maybe I will try. I do have two separate things I want to write about. Let's start with the annual tradition.

This is actually two days late but as I was out of town I'll give myself a pass. The day after Thanksgiving is the first day of my favorite holiday, Festivus. Festivus is too big to fit into a day, or a week, or a month. It ends January 25th. Festivus is a season. It takes us through the darkest days of the year, at least in the Northern Hemisphere.

Festivus is not against anything. It doesn't mock anything. If you celebrate Christmas, Chanukah, Solstice, Sol Invictus or any other holiday you still celebrate it. But Festivus solves the problem of how to greet those who celebrate a different holiday or perhaps no religious holiday. Festivus welcomes all of them. If finds the common core and brings it front and center. I never thought about it before but The Christians and the Pagans is about celebrating Festivus.

Incorporate into Festivus what you love and who you love. Incorporate what the people you love love. The magic is in the learning. Just remember to keep it lighthearted. Festivus has ancient immutable principles that I add to every year. Everything is retroactive the new principles have always been there so remain ancient and immutable.

The Principles of Festivus

  • Peace, love, and understanding
  • Freedom
  • The never ending fight for truth and justice
  • Appreciating nature
  • Caritas
  • Accepting that others will balance the competing principles differently
  • The only orthodoxy is that there is no orthodoxy
  • Presents
  • Music!
  • Chocolate! If you don�t think chocolate is a principle you don�t understand chocolate.
  • Sillyness
  • Friendship

Festivus's name comes from Seinfeld as did the concept of the Festivus Pole but that's it. Festivus is not mean spirited. My Festivus Pole is festooned with pez dispensers and toys. Make yours the way you want.

I have to give my Festivus props to Carey and Shelly; the three of us came up with holiday and it's ancient traditions together.

Every year I create a Festivus event on Facebook. Say you are going and invite your friends. Festivus is celebrated in your heart so you can't say you can't make it.

And to all My Gentle Readers, no matter if you celebrate Festivus or not, I'll leave you like I always do with the words of Charles Dickens in the unexpurgated version of his classic book, "A Festivus Carol."

As Tiny Tim observed, Festivus bless us, Every One!

Whee Festivus!



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 30, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!