I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 09, 2014 - 10:04 a.m.

Say Goodnight Gracie

Anxiety hit last night maybe if I write about Falcon Ridge it will go away. In any event I have to finish writing about the festival. I was thinking of not posting this on the Falcon Ridge Group as so much of is it post music but sometimes the personal things are universal. We all go home.

Now it's Sunday. Well actually I already wrote about much of Sunday as I didn't go back to my tent till 7 AM on Saturday night. I slept till I heard Roosevelt Dime playing. Whose bright idea was it to have them play from 10 -- 10:50 on Sunday morning? That meant I couldn't properly listen to them but could hear them from the workshop stage from my tent. I roused myself but there was no way I could get myself downhill for the Gospel Wakeup Call even though Kim & Reggie, Brother Sun, and Spuyten Duyvil were playing. I made my way down the hill in search of breakfast. Before I was to buy breakfast I was rescued. I think of what George Constanza said about paying for parking when I buy food at Falcon Ridge, "Paying for parking is like going to a prostitute. It's paying for something that you can get for free if you are willing to put in the time and effort." I was rescued from this ignoble fate by Kat who I had met the night before. She is the lovely woman that gave me s'mores at 2:30 AM the night before. She was at the door to the volunteer tent and called me over. She said I could eat there. I felt guilty as I don't volunteer but as was explained to me that as it was Sunday they would just throw out what they don�t' get rid of. So I had eggs and the last grilled cheese sandwich. It was sort of late for breakfast. I promised once again to write about Kat here. I hope she see this. She wears cat ears. If you know her make sure she reads this. I meant what I said and I said what I meant, a blogger is faithful one hundred percent.

Then I went back to camp. Sunday's are always awkward at FRFF. I have to strike my tent and the Budgiedome camp which makes it hard to hear music. I didn't even realize that Tracy Grammar was on early so ended up listening from the Budgiedome. She is someone I wanted to be at the main stage for. She's one of the people I most associate with the festival and I don't see her that often away from it.

I felt better when Seth Glier came on. I find him self-indulgent. See I don't like everyone. Let me make sure we aren't Facebook friends. We're not I'm safe.

We made some progress on the Budgiedome then and during The Andrew & Noah 'Band. I have to check them out. They sounded great. We finished during John Gorka. I love John but I hear him often including at New Bedford. So it's not a disaster if I hear his set from camp. We can hear Main Stage very well from where we camp. That's part of why we camp there. We finished then and I finally made it down the hill. I made my final visit to Taste Budds where I indulged myself with a "huge" frozen Mocha Chiller. Then I went to main stage to watch Brother Sun. I found a spot down front that was open. There's no real need to lay down a tarp on Sunday as there are always plenty of people striking camp and you can sit on theirs. After their set somebody picked up their tarp and I moved to the empty space for the band I most wanted to see at the festival, The Duhks. They aren't my absolute favorites but I love them and have only seen them one other time. They did not disappoint. I thought that LORi and Steve were going to join me but they didn't show up so I joined Dan and Phyllis on their tarp for the second half of the set. That is till the Duhks invited everyone to get up and dance. tehn I got up and moved down front to the aisle and danced like Nijinsky. Steve came down to tell me where he and LORi were and had a different assessment of my dancing ability.

I didn't stay for the closing dirge. I went back to camp to load up the truck then we went down to LORi and Steve's trailer. I stayed the extra night and slept in the tent they had set up I couldn't stay in the trailer because LORi's mother was there. So that was it for the festival music. It was all over but the shouting. Later Steve and I went back to camp. Steve took a shower but it was getting dark so I didn't. I just helped take it down and we went back to the trailer. We ended up going to sleep early. I think it was about 10:30. I slept very well. No wonder I hardly slept the night before. The next day We had to load things into the trailer to take home, and load things onto the truck. Then we headed up. Steve and LORi's mother went home, LORi drove me home after two stops. First at a store LORi always goes to after Falcon Ridge. There was a slow driver in front of us. I told LORi to flash her lights but she was too laid back. The driver pulled into the same store. It was Heather! We were delighted. I got hugs and to thank her for playing the Budgiedome and hanging out with us all Friday night and more hugs and yet more hugs. Oh and I got coffee and a chocolate croissant. I had to get food in there.

Then LORi and I followed my tradition and went to the Chief Martindale Diner for a very cheap and very good breakfast, eggs over easy and sausage. Is that where I took over the driving? I don't think so. No we stopped for gas and I drove first to my storage where we dropped off my camping gear and then to my apartment LORi came up to use my bathroom then we said our goodbyes. With that another Falcon Ridge was over. It's not just about the music or the place but the people. As long as I was with LORi it was still Falcon Ridge. So now the festival returns to the mysterious dimension where it resides most of the year till it returns like Brigadoon next summer.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 09, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!