I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 05, 2014 - 12:01 p.m.

The Real Me

It's time to start writing up Falcon Ridge. Part of me just wants to jump to Saturday. I'm not answerable to anyone here including chronology. I think I will. Don't worry I'll write about the rest of the weekend too.

Why do I want to start with Saturday? Because it was a archetypal Gordon day. When I'm feeling down I look at myself and say, "that's not what I do." Saturday was exactly what I do.

After going to sleep around 4 AM I got up at 8:15 and started in search of food. Of course that involved many many many stops to talk to people. I ended up doing something that isn't something I do. I, horror of horrors, went down to the midway and bought breakfast at the Skinny Pancake! Yes I paid for food that isn't chocolate at Falcon Ridge. I'm a failure as a parasite. I ordered an egg, bacon, and cheese cr�pe. I got the all important coffee from Taste Budds.

Then I went back to the Budgiedome and talked to more people. I had to talk to Dorothy, as I was borrowing her car, and to Fred because my suit was hanging in his car. Thank goodness they were both up before I had to leave.

Oh I guess I need to tell you where I was leaving for, my nephew Max's wedding. Yes of the 52 weekends of the year he and Caila decided to get married on Falcon Ridge weekend. Oddly Sarah and Drew part of the Steeple camp who should have known better got married Saturday too. Their wedding was in Texas so all the camp other than Liz and Ethan. Oh and Carolyn's sister also decided to get married that day. We decided there needs to be a law, no weddings allowed on FRFF weekend unless they are held at the festival.

Fortunately Max and Caila's wedding was in Baldwinsville NY a mere three hours away from the festival. I couldn't miss the festival and I couldn't miss the wedding so I did both. Of course I didn't get to hear any main stage music that day. I wanted to leave at 10 and managed to leave by 10:15 maybe even a bit earlier.

This was my first time driving in more than a year. My eyesight wasn't good enough till I got my new glasses. I am very confident in my driving but was still a bit nervous especially as it was in a car I had never driven. Good thing the directions were easy. I just took 22 to 90 except for the last 15 minutes or so. When I got on 90 I realized that I couldn't see out the passenger sideview mirror. I pulled over at the first rest stop to adjust it. I couldn't see a control for it in the car. I went outside and couldn't see a control for it on the mirror. I googled how to adjust the mirror on a Saturn and saw that I just had to put my fingers on the glass and move the mirror by hand. I did a pretty good job. It only took two shots to get it right. Then I was off again.

I drove a bit and realized I was only using my right eye. I thought my left lens was dirty. I stopped at what used to be called a rest stop or scenic overlook. Know what they call it now, a "text stop." Turns out it wasn't my glasses it was my eye. I sometimes get that, a film on my eye that goes away on its own. It's hard to notice since I see fine out of the other eye. I need to talk to the ophthalmologist about that. Oh and I texted Alison that I was on the way. Well the sign said I should text.

The rest of the trip went easy and I found the Red Mill Inn where everyone was staying. I was supposed to arrive between one and two. I got there at 1:30. The problem was that Alison's schedule had changed and she had to get ready earlier than originally planned. I was of course filthy from camping and needed to shower and change into my wedding clothes. I had to let Alison go first. I called Sue. She said that she and her husband Mike were busy getting ready but she told me of a nice walk I could take while I waited, They then surprised me by waiting for me to walk by. So I got some time with Sue and Mike. They live in Texas so this was a special occasion. Then they really did have to get ready and I took the walk.

Baldwinsville is right on the Erie Canal and the Inn right by a lock. I watched it open to let boats through, talked to people that explained how things work, they boats pay a fee for the summer, and walked along the canal. I took advantage of the Cell service to text with Katrina. She actually missed me.

I was told that I had the bathroom between 3:00 and 3:30. I walked into the room at precisely 3:00. Alison was sharing the room with her friend Jill and Jill's daughter, let's see if I can remember this, Kendra. Am I right? What do I win? I went from being covered in dust festival me into this:

It was the best wedding ever. It was at Caila's friend's house overlooking the Seneca River. Max's friend officiated. He became a Universal Life Minister on the Internet. Who wants to officiate at my wedding? A friend is the way to go. He was both funny and sincere. The entire wedding including the vows were both funny and sincere. Max could joke about the compromises they each make, spending their vacations at both beaches and museums, and losing to Caila at cribbage and Jeopardy but also be moved to tears. It was beautiful and perfect. Their friends that did readings were funny and sincere. One read a love story about dinosaurs! All the best wedding involve dinosaurs. We blew bubbles instead of throwing rice at the end. I of course kept the bubbles.

We then went to the reception. I rode with Sue, Mike, and my cousin Ayn (pronounced Ann not ine). I actually had a beer at the cocktail hour. I sat with the people I rode with. I talked with Louis, Sylvia, and Marjorie, my Pesach family.

The fun continued at the reception. I saw Caila's father Chris and knew he was my people. He was wearing a smiley face tie. He's a science teacher. I knew Caila was related to me even before she became my niece by marrying Max. There were some great toasts. Max had bonded with his best man over being nerds who loved Monty Python. I think I am the one that introduced Max to the glories of Python. The best man even through in a "nudge nudge say no more."

The only down note was that I had to leave before the main course came. I got some rack of lamb for the road and then walked back to the hotel to get my stuff. I then made the bold move. I didn't change. I decided to go with my instinct for showmanship and wear the white suit to the Budgiedome. That's why I had to leave. I can miss the main stages but I spend all year planning the Budgiedome music and I am not going to miss that. I did leave an hour later than I wanted but decided that if I miss some of the music that's OK. I couldn't pull myself away from my family. I hardly ever see them. I wasn't going to let possibly being late bother me. I know things would run smoothly without me.

The ride home wasn't so smooth. It started to rain, hard. The AC compressor on the car is out so the defogger didn't work well. That meant there was a halo around every light. I have cataracts which made the halos worse. The road was wet and looked like a mirror. It was sometimes a struggle to see the lane. that meant I couldn't drive very fast. And of course I was tired. I stopped at a rest area with a McDonalds and got some food and more importantly coffee. Even though I was in a rush I knew for safety I should stop and eat it there till the coffee kicked in. That worked and when the rain stopped I could see fine. the cataracts are not that bad. The rest of the ride home was more relaxing. I wanted to get back by midnight but didn't get "home" till 1 AM. Be it ever so humble there's no place like Budgiedome.

The only part that upset me was that I missed Mya's Budgedome debut as Mya. When I got there the big jam was going on, Pesky J. Nixon, Spuyten Duyvil, and friends including Mya. If there's one thing I know how to do it's make an entrance. They finished a song and walked in wearing my white suit and announced that the show could start. I got about as warm a welcome as I've ever gotten. Everyone insisted on taking my picture with the bands. Here's the one that Jake Jacobson took.

The rest of the invited musicians were:
Scott Wolfson and Other Heroes
Efrat Shapira
Ryan Taylor Band
The Lords of Liechtenstein+
Mike Laureanno
Aaron Nathans & Michael G. Ronstadt.

During Efrat's set the trip caught up to me and I had to walk the quarter mile to the port-a-john. On the way there Fred told me that a woman would stop me and offer me s'mores. Guess what happened. I walked a bit and a woman called out to me and offered me s'mores. I had to take care of business first but on the way back she called me over again. I was in a white suit but couldn�t turn down s'mores especially ones made with Reese Cups. The magic woman has a name. Not only that a miracle occurred and I remember her name, Kat. That's easy for me of course as every woman I know is some variation of Kat. Oh and she was wearing cat ears. I told her I'd name my first born child Cat, with the C, I might have proposed to her. She'll come into another entry too. I promised her that I'd blog about her. At a totally different time Seth took a picture of her with Bill.

If you know her show her the blog and tell her to send me a friend request.

I came back for the end of Ryan's set. Why can't I be at two places at once?

The music was of course terrific. Look who programs it, the best dressed folk impresario on the east coast.

Music is for other entries. This was about me being me and being very happy.

The music ended early for us, maybe 3:45, But then instead of going to sleep Steve, LORi, Paul and I kept talking. And then Carolann joined us and was wide awake after a great night of music at the Focus song circle. Finally it was just the two of us having quality time and waiting for the sun to rise. After that we were joined by Dorothy who woke up at 6 AM. Carolann and I gave in and went to our tents at 7 AM. That was a long day. That was a great day. That was a Gordon day.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 05, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!