I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-07-07 - 11:28 a.m.

Get in the Car

Yesterday I decided to take it easy. Normally I'd find something to do on a Friday night but I've been busy and I do need my rest. I had my share of stress anyway. The saga of my car repair continued.

A quick recap: I brought my car in for repairs a week ago last Thursday. My popup headlights were both stuck and the rear defogger didn't work. In addition because of the headlight problem I didn't realized that I had left them on and killed the battery. When I brought it in I was told they would look at it on Friday. Friday came around and they didn't look at it or even call me to let me know. They don't do work on Saturday so that meant waiting till Monday. On Monday they found the problems and said it would be ready on Tuesday, Thursday the latest. On Thursday I called and was told that it wouldn't be ready till Friday that they hadn't gotten the parts. I complained that they hadn't told me, that I had to call. On Friday I got a call that they still didn't have the parts and had no way of tracking them. I blew up. At first I ranted and raved, I lost control. Then I got smart. I said: "I'm actually lucky I have cancer and can't work. I just have to beg rides to the doctor. I have an appointment on Monday morning at 9 AM." That changed her tone totally. She went over to see what she could do. Miraculously it seems the part had just arrived and the rushed to get my car done. They didn't quite finish the defogger but the car is drivable and I picked it up. I'm bringing it back on Monday after my Upper GI series at the hospital. Not only did they rush to finish it but they aren't charging me for some of the work. They found that a bad relay was what ruined the switch for the defogger and they are fixing that for free. I hated to use my illness like that but it sure got results.

Now after that rant I'm going to change gears. I've said it before but it really struck me yesterday. My life has been a mess this year but I am really happy. I'm sick, not making money, and having car trouble yet I'm feeling happy. It is so much the people I am dealing with now. I've gotten rid of all the people who give me stress and the people who attack my self-esteem. I now spend my time dealing with people who act like they actually like me and want to spend time with me. Not everyone treats me great but I'm not expecting better from those who don't. That is very important. People disappointing me are the hardest thing to take. The people who ignore me now are people I don't expect better of. I used to deal with quite a few people who I thought cared about me but didn't. Now I have fewer people in my life but the quality is way up. I get affirmation every day from people that I really care about. Thank you.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-07-07
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!