I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-08-22 - 6:19 a.m.

Dan Bern at Fez

I'm up at 6 AM and can't get back to sleep. I might as well write my entry now. I didn't sleep well last night either so I didn't do much during the day. Today I have to get busy and do laundry and make the Oliver's Army shirts for Jaci and Renita. I also need to get my car's wheel's aligned. I hope I can get that all done.

Yesterday I went to Fez with Lisa and Alessandro to see Dan Bern. Fez is one of my least favourite venues. They are crowded, the service is terrible, they allow smoking, and they usually don't start on time. Last night they started on time but the other problems were all there. Despite that it was a great show, better than the Turning Point show. His choice of material was better. He played several of his best old songs and his new songs were sharper. He even mentioned that he has a new album coming out and played one song from it.

After the show I bought my monthly railroad pass for September, when I go back to teaching. I'm almost back to my regular life now.

I just heard on the radio that the Bronx Baby Bombers won their game in the Little League World Series. I haven't been watching the games on TV but I have been following it. The teams involved are usually suburban teams with players from affluent families playing on well-manicured fields. The Baby Bombers are an inner city team from the heart of the Bronx. The players are all Dominican and Puerto Rican. Until recently they played in a weed infested urban sandlot. Their success did prompt someone to donate a brand new field to them recently. This is a team I can really root for. They are the class of the field and are now in the finals. Their star pitcher is amazing; he struck out 16 of 18 batters his last two starts, the second of which was a perfect game. Go Baby Bombers.

I am once more being struck by the insecurity of my friends. **Hugs** to you all. Never say that you don't make anyone happy, you make my day.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-08-22
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!