I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-05-30 - 10:44 p.m.

The Story of Benny

Have I mentioned that life isn't fair? You might have noticed this on your own of course. You might think that I've had my fair share of health problems this year: My share and those of about 20 people. I haven't been feeling well again and went to the doctor today. He thinks I have another abscess. I'm having a CAT scan tomorrow. The thing that most upsets me is that this is the weekend of Appel Farm. I was going to see Carey, Shelly, and Leah. If I miss this I will scream.

So now I'm too upset to write my usual philosophic or political treatise. Instead I'm going to take it easy and tell you the story of my friend Benny.

My friend Benny told me that he knew everyone. I did not believe him of course. I said: "You don't know mayor Guiliani." He told me he did and said he'd prove it. We got on the subway and went down to City Hall. When we got there Benny went up to talk to security. In a few minutes we were ushered into the mayor's office.

"Hi Benny" Rudy said.

"Hi Rudy" said Benny.

I couldn't believe it. After we left he told me: "I told you, I know everyone" I said you don't know "Murray Foster." He told me he did and that he'd prove it. We drove up to Toronto and went to Murray's house. Benny rings the bell and Murray answers.

"Hi Benny long time no see."

"Hi Mur how is the hiatus going?"

Once again he was right. On the ride home he told me:

"I know everyone"

I said: "You don't know the president. That is one person you don't know."

Of course next thing you know we are driving down to DC. This was back during the Clinton administration. We get to the Whitehouse and go through about 20 security checks. After that we are ushered into a room and who is there but Bill and Hillary.

"Hi Benny" they chimed in unison.

"Hi Bill. Hi Hill." He responded.

By this time I was desperate to find one person he didn't know. I finally thought of someone. No way he knew the pope ... We get off the plane in Rome and go to St. Peters Square. Benny tells me to wait in the square and he'll come out on the balcony with the pope. When Benny comes out on the Balcony he looks down on the crowd and sees me fainted dead away on the ground. He rushes down to me. When I come to he asks:

"Why did you faint? I told you I knew the pope."

"That's not what got to me. It was when the guy next to me asked me who the guy in the big hat next to Benny was."


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-05-30
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!