I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 23, 2013 - 12:30 a.m.

Spring Break Vacation

Wow today flew. I took Celebrian to an appointment then did my laundry and now it's late afternoon and I would like to be leaving but I can't till I write this. I'll keep it short. Nope I can't even do that. I'll have to write it tonight when I get home.

I'm home. Now I have to put the events of today behind me and dig deep in my memory to unearth the events of the distant past, ... yesterday.

I went on my spring break vacation. I was a tourist. What exotic land was my destination? A fair isle called by its original inhabitants Manna-hata but by the newcomers Manhattan. I went with Katherine and our planned goal was the 9/11 memorial. We met at Starbucks nearby and headed straight to the memorial. A nice thing about going when it is cold is that there weren't very many people there. I imagine getting through security takes some times when there are.

I didn't know what to expect of the memorial. I wasn't expecting much. I knew there were reflecting pools and I knew there were names of the victim, and I knew the museum wasn't finished. I was pleasantly surprised as the reflecting pools were not actually reflecting pools. I don't know how to describe them so I'll just show you the video. Yes you need a video to capture it.

Somehow it seems appropriate. One thing that struck me was that the pools seemed too small. They are the footprints of the towers and the towers seemed bigger from the inside. Maybe they were really Tardises. Tardia? I was impressed with the sensibility. It was not maudlin. Almost everything I have seen and her about 9/11 was overdone and melodramatic. This had dignity.

I on the other hand don't. My favorite picture might be one I took by accident. I tried to take this one:

Google+ is the work of the devil!
'
I decided to give it a shot and went to view the album in Google+. There is no option there for putting it on another website. If they ever get rid of picasa I'm screwed and they clearly want to get rid of it. Since they created Google+ they have quit maintenance on picasa. The bugs that are there, are there to stay. How did the bugs get there, when they modified it to work with Google+. It used to be just about perfect,

OK back to the pictures. I was trying to take this photo:


But the picture didn't take and I lowered the camera and got this:

Here are a few more shots of the pools.


That's the museum in the background

Katherine used to live in the area and gave me a tour of some fun things in the area. We started with ne showing her my favorite statue.


That's old I didn't take a picture yesterday.

Then I got to be the out of towner. I always give the Gordon Tour or New York and that always includes lower Manhattan but there are treasures there I didn't know about. There are some right in Battery Park, what Katherine calls the musical squares.

Here's a video to cheer you up on a blue day...

Let me know if you have trouble seeing that. It's a rarity, a video of me I'm not ashamed of.

There's a great Irish Hunger Memorial.


'That part just looks like a stark Irish landscape.

There's a great hidden playground admits slabs of rocks with a great slide.

There was the beautiful tiny park.

I'm going to have to show it all to you next time we are downtown,

Carey, Brian you in for the Irish Hunger Memorial? Carey I know you can't resist the musical squares.

For dinner we had Indian. I had the chicken vindaloo. The menu said it was very hot. When I ordered it the waiter didn't quite believe that I wanted it. It was very hot, it was great.

After dinner we headed back to Brooklyn,. I love Brooklyn but I love playing in Manna-Hata too.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 23, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!