I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 18, 2016 - 1:44 p.m.

7 No Trump Ends the Auction

Monday is bagel and Trader Joe's day. I got out of the house earlier than usual which was good. I was able to just close my computer and get going. It is also Farmer's Market day but there was no corn. I was heartbroken. There was Tina so that made the trip to the market worthwhile. This counts as a random run into! I have not kept track of them this year. I did last.

The cats love the Trader Joe's tuna for cats so I pick that up when I'm there. I get seven cans to last a week. It will actually last longer. As I was grabbing the cans someone said, "Why don't you just take the whole shelf? It's not really unusual to stock up on pet food. At the TJ's in Brooklyn there's a sign saying to ask about buying a case. I thought the person was being judgmental but it was said with a smile so I smiled back. When I don't know I try to think the best of people.

In my continuing quest to make my favorite meals I bought barbecue sauce and had it on chicken thighs. That's so good and requires virtually no preparation. I do sprinkle garlic salt and MSG on the chicken before I put it in the oven. That's it. When it's done I pour the sauce on it. I have a l lot of chicken in the freezer so my plan is to make lots of chicken. For variety I'll switch between Cajun, sweet garlic, jerk, and barbecue. I could make buffalo too even though I don't have wings. There's no law that says you can't put it on a thigh or breast fillet. Or is there? Paul, help me out. Paul is both my Buffalo and cooking guru. I need to learn to make speedies. Oh and souvlaki.

OK I'm going to force myself to not tell you what I had for breakfast. I'll just tell you that I forgot to cut the bagels and put them in the freezer yesterday so I toasted one today and cut and froze the rest. Have I mentioned that I'm an idiot? Good thing I'm as sexy as all get out.

I had a huge dilemma; On Saturday there were two concerts that I had to be at. Spuyten Duyvil and the Durham County Poets were playing for Carter at the Common Ground Community Concerts. Meanwhile Bobtown who I have seen do a full show since my birthday were playing at Jalopy along with a bunch of Philly friends, Meghan Cary and Owl and Wolf in a fund raiser for the Philadelphia Folk Music Society. I'm closer to the Common Ground in Hastings but I have to take the Metro North which makes it pricey and it will take about the same time as getting to Jalopy in Brooklyn. I have been putting off deciding as we are talking favorite bands and favorite people and I always merch for both Bobtown and Spuyten Duyvil and and and … . I was looking for a sign to choose and Katherine asked me if I were free to do the door at Jalopy. So that's where you'll find me. Here's the deal. If you live in the Bronx and points north go to the Common Ground. The rest of the city go to Jalopy if you don't have a car. If you do and live in upper Manhattan or Northern Queens, I'll give you the option of going to either. Going to neither is NOT an option. When I'm president I'm going to start a program of mandatory folk concert attendance.

So now to the somewhat unpleasant part of this entry. This is going to be the very last time I write or link to anything about Donald Trump either here or on Facebook, till after the election. I'll post about the election, but not the man. This is not a Voldemort, he who cannot be named thing. It's a there's nothing left to say about the man so it's pointless to discuss him more thing. We know who he is and it's hard to imagine something being revealed that will surprise me or change what I think about it. There is one thing. If it is revealed that he's like Batman a rich superhero who uses his wealth to fight evil and the slimy playboy is just his clever front to hide his secret identity I will by all means write about that. It would be just about the coolest thing ever. No I will not share my drugs with you and this has nothing to do with my meds. My mind has always worked that way. Or is it not worked. There's that whole being an idiot thing.

We have known who Trump really is all along. When he announced his candidacy he said:

When Mexico sends its people, they’re not sending their best. They’re not sending you. They’re not sending you. They’re sending people that have lots of problems, and they’re bringing those problems with us. They’re bringing drugs. They’re bringing crime. They’re rapists. And some, I assume, are good people.
That is not something a decent person says. It's certainly not something a president of the United States would say. Then there is his whole history of racial discrimination in housing, his call for the death penalty, before the trial, of the Central Park Five, his endless degrading comments about women, and total lack of convictions. He contradicts himself within the same sentence. He's not going to get us in warms but he's going to smash ISIS? Can anyone really think he can make Mexico pay for the wall? Yet he repeats that over and over again and the crowd cheers? Why? It's just saying, "We hate Mexico!" He goes from being prochoice to saying a woman should be punished for having an abortion. He's bragged about how many women he's had sex with. No birth control is 100% infallible. We know he's fertile, he has seven legitimate kids. The odds are astronomically in favor of him getting other women pregnant. Did they all have abortions? Is he supporting those kids? Why has nobody asked this?

Once the campaign he has given us reasons again and again to find him unfit for the presidency, attacking McCain, attacking the Gold Star Family, attacking the Miss Universe. Then there's bragging about walking in on nude teenage beauty pageant contestants. We didn't need the tape to know who he is.

Now I understand that it's much easier for a liberal Democrat like myself to see the truth about Trump. As a Republican you feel loyalty to your candidate. You don't want to face the election of someone whose politics is diametrically opposed to yours. You don't want to see the Supreme Court tilt left. I can tell you that I survived the elections of Nixon, Reagan, and both Bushes. The Court has leaned right for almost 50 years. The Republic did not fall I assured my liberal friends of this when Bush II was elected and I'll assure my Republican friends of this now. I'm not saying you have to vote for Hillary. When convicted felon Donald Manes was running for New York City comptroller I didn't vote for him. I wrote in my friend who is the most honest person I know. You can do that. Vote for the person you think most suited to be president, whoever it is.

I know there's an element of losing face. You are afraid to look foolish supporting Trump till now. I will tell you straight out that I supported Anthony Weiner. He was my congressman. He was perhaps the first politician I liked on Facebook. I dumped him when the scandals broke. It took a few days but then I stopped defending him. You don't have to announce it to the world. Nobody need every know who you vote for. That's the beauty of the secret ballot.

You made excuses for him till now, it's time to stop and see Trump for who he is. Is he someone you'd want your daughter dating? Is he someone whose judgement you'd trust? Just think about it and remember you have options. If you are my friend I know you are not filled with hate. You know that Mexicans are not "sending" us anyone and that those that come here are not rapists, at least any more than Americans are. They are desperate people looking for a better life. Women are not show dogs to be judged by their looks but human beings entitled to respect and autonomy.

That's it. I'm done with the man till after the election. You'll be hearing a lot from me about the important things in life, music, baseball, friendship, chocolate, and bacon. Oh and OK what II had for breakfast. It was sausageeggandcheese on a bagel. There, you got it out of me. Happy?

Tonight is On Your Radar with EVA, Greg Cornell and Monica Rizzo . I love EVA and trust John Platt's taste on the others. I want to see you there. Yes, you have a lot of homework, OYR tonight and the two concerts on Saturday. You need to attend to pass the class. You are allowed only two unexcused absences for the semester.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 18, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!