I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 20, 2015 - 12:04 p.m.

Stopping to Shop at Stop and Shop

This edition of Wise Madness might end up being odd, I'm not sure exactly where it's going. Grocery shopping was the day's excitement but for a reason.

Monday means therapy but this was the first week starting an hour early. I remembered and got there right on time. As I wrote yesterday I had to kill half an hour after therapy and before the bagels go half-priced. I went to the Union Square Farmer's Market but ended up not pulling the trigger and buying blue potatoes, what I was looking for. Last year I got them for $1, this year I can't find them for less than $2 and have not been able to get myself to pay that much. Maybe next week I'll treat myself.

It was a rough therapy session and I decided to not go up to my PO Box even though I need to. I was going to go straight home but realized I had to buy nasal strips. I was already in the subway when it hit me so I decided to see if the Stop and Shop had opened at Atlantic Terminal where the Pathmark was. It had opened and that's why it was exciting. I would travel to go to Stop and Shop when I lived in both Oakland Gardens and Briarwood even though it was never the closest supermarket. The good news is they have their great homemade hot dog rolls and many things are far cheaper than Pathmark. The bad thing is there was no Taylor Pork Roll. Does anyone know a place to buy it in Brooklyn or Manhattan? Does Taylor have a website? I can’t find it. Is there a supermarket near the PATH train where I can get it? Yes I'm willing to make a special trip to Jersey for Taylor ham. It should be classified as an addictive substance. I didn't buy Taylor ham but I bought a lot more than I planned.

When I got home the tough therapy session hit home and I fell asleep with the computer on my lap. So much for going out last night to see either Tara O'Grady or Tamar Korn. I never thought I would do either. I have a full dance card this week.

Tuesday: Villa Palagonia at Caffe Vivaldi
Wednesday: Jennifer Kimball and Cuddle Magic at Barbès.
Thursday: Efrat Shapira's CD release at Crossroads in New Jersey. I'm emceeing that show.
Friday: David Wax Museum and Arc Irish at the Mercury Lounge
Saturday: Matt Nakoa and Martin Singer at First Acoustics.
Sunday: Matt Nakoa and the Lords of Liechtenstein at Courthouse Concerts in Merrick NY
Monday: Circle Songbook Concert which includes Anna Dagmar at The Laurie Beechman Theater

I might have to skip one of them that's a lot.

I'm almost finished with season 2 of Blake's 7, one episode left but that's a biggie, Star 1 It's pivotal.

On a day I was too busy to fit it in I saw an exchange that I have essentially remembered from first seeing it in the 80s. Unlike most memorable lines it wasn't spoken by either Avon or Vila but by characters that were just in one episode. They were talking about Travis, one of the villains. He's a brutal space commander in the military. He isn't a ship's captain but closer to a Special Forces officer. He was on trial for genocide, he massacred people he considered rebels. Not clear if they were rebels. His lawyer sneaked him a flask of liquor through a trooper that used to be in his command but was no guarding him.

Lawyer: You served under him. What was he like?
Trooper: He was hard
Lawyer: But fair
Trooper: Not often anyway. But you could always rely on him to not get you killed necessarily. He didn't waste troopers.
Lawyers: That's something I supposed.
Trooper: Major, when you are up to your neck I slime and lasers that's everything.
I loved that. It gave you a new one of thinking about this character that you always hated and could see why men would follow him. It also made me realize that that really is everything. You'd much rather serve with a bastard that keeps you alive than a nice guy that will get you killed. It gives perspective.

Watching the series I'm impressed with how it portrays a future that is dystopian in so many ways but in which women are treated equally with men. There are women in positions of authority in most episodes. Two of the six members of Liberator's Crew were women including the pilot a former smuggler/pirate. They were not scantily clad eye candy. In season four Soolin joins the cast. She's a gunslinger. Travis's superior is Supreme Commander Servalon. I love her. She's evil and totally ruthless but she has charm. She is a tough woman without looking or acting like a stereotype tough woman. She is a fashionista, wearing clothes you'd expect celebrities to be wearing on the red carpet of the futuristic academy awards. She has close cropped hair and lots of eye makeup. She's sexual the same way as James Bond is sexual, always in control though she never actually does anything, that would involve too much involvement with another person. Another great line is in a recorded message from a strategist whose strategy went astray. He knew she'd take it out on him. So he explained why he had to disappear and ends it with: "I just want to say that you are undoubtedly the sexiest officer I have ever known." Even though her plans were thwarted she smiled at that. So much fun.


That's a typical outfit but there's no boa.

Now for breakfast. I am thinking grits and egg and cheese.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 20, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!