I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 08, 2015 - 12:22 p.m.

Three Things

I had a better day yesterday. I'm not sure if there will be anything to write about but it was better.

I have been sitting at home all day but yesterday I made myself go out. I took a walk and remembered to use the Map My Walk app on my phone so I have a record. I wanted to walk about four miles in about an hour. I thought that if I walked down President Street till I hit the Brooklyn Museums and the Botanic Gardens and walked back down Eastern Parkway it would be close. I was right. It was just short of our miles so I walked around the block south of me. The total distance? 4.12 miles. The total time, 1:05:35. Yes I'm good. I actually walked a bit faster than that as I had to stop at lights. Not bad as I'm just starting to get into walking shape. Walking helped my psyche as much as my body. I am going to try and walk every day. Tonight I'm going to walk to The Living Room. I think that's about five miles. It's always good to confirm that I'm not in such bad shape.

When I got home I started to make dinner. I made myself my very favorite combination, sweet garlic chicken and Hasselback potatoes. I gave myself an extra indulgence. When you make the potatoes you brush them with some sort of fat. I usually use very healthy olive oil. Sometimes I use butter. Sometimes a mixture of the two. I read on a website that somebody uses duck fat. I don't have duck fat but I do have bacon fat and that's what I used. I put it in a dish and microwaved it to make it liquid.

After I popped it in the oven I got a message from Carey. on Facebook saying it was a good time to talk on the phone. I said I'd try and talk and cook at the same time. So I multitasked. I did not screw up the dinner … too much. Nothing major just mistimed putting in the chicken. It wasn't ready till five minutes after the potato. That was well worth having the conversation.

It's hard talking about my conversations with Carey. They are rated Z. I'm not sure anyone of sound mind is fit to hear them. Sure we talked about our respective issues but we also talked about important things. For a change we didn't discuss how she is going to have sex with Denny Wilson's ghost at my funeral. Instead we talked about the video of Mike Mills saying he wants to be the father of Carey's children. Strange thing, Carey's husband Neal did not hear that. Carey and I did clear as a bell.

If that's the part of our conversation I think it's safe for you to know imagine what the rest of it is like.

See that's all that it takes to make me feel better, a walk, a conversation, and food.

Wow another short entry. I made only one typo! At least that's all that Word's proofing caught. What reading grade level do you think this entry is? Word says it's 4.3. I just discovered that Word does that recently .Maybe the old editions didn't. I should double check this after I post it. I'm sure there are online sites that measure it too. I'd like to think my writing is a bit more challenging. Perhaps my philosophical discourses are.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 08, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!