I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 11, 2012 - 1:04 p.m.

I'm Shy I Just Hide It Well

I am making a later start writing today than I wanted to but it wasn't the fault of the Chronoklepts. My computer suffered an assault by the wily Odysseus. Does everyone know what that means? It takes knowing something about Greek mythology and computers but my guess is most of My Brilliant Gentle Readers will be able to figure that out. The computer was infected by a Trojan Horse. When I logged in a screen came on that said I had violated federal laws and the FBI locked my computer. To get it working I had to pay a fine. The screen would not go away. The only active spot on the screen was where I had to enter the code for the payment method It said I had to use to pay the fine. No I'm not an idiot I didn't believe that. I tried rebooting the computer and the same thing happened. I tried hitting control-alt-delete and seeing if I could do something with the task manager but that wouldn't work. I was afraid I'd have to take it to Geek Squad to be fixed. They do things like that right? There's one right in Best Buy a few blocks from my house. I didn't want to do that though. Paying money to anyone to fix it was not only a financial hit but a blow to my ego. I thought of asking for help on FB from my friends but then decided to try something. I restarted the computer in safe mode. I didn't actually know the right way of doing that so I unplugged it when it was on. I knew when I restarted it would ask me if I wanted to try it in safe mode. After it restarted the Trojan Horse was not activated. I then did a scan with AVG. It found the Trojan and eliminated it. It actually found 8 infected files. When I restarted again things were fine.

I went out again last night. I seem to go out every night. I never have a chance to catch up and write about my thoughts. I am going to try and write less about last night than usual since it was something I've done before mainly involving people I've written about before. We'll see if that works.

I went to The Two Moon Art House and Caf� to see Bev Grant and Carolann Solebello's second Friday series. Since I've moved to Brooklyn I've become a regular. They invite a third singer/songwriter to join them. They each do a short set followed by a Nashville style guitar pull. It's always a social event for me as I know there will be friends there. In addition to the hosts Fred is always there. This week we were joined by Coco and Bruce. This is why I moved to Brooklyn, to see my Brooklyn peeps.

I will now pointedly not write about Bev and Carolann as I've done that before. Well OK, I have to write something about Carolann as I just noticed something. We were discussing about the country sound that some people ascribe to her music. While I can see what they mean it is never how it affects me. During the show I might have figured out why, it's her diction. Part of the country idiom is the use of rural pronunciations and word variants. You never use the final g at the end of gerunds. You're losin' not losing. You use double negatives. You sound like you don't have no book learning. Carolann doesn't do those things. Even before I knew her background her singing always sounded Broadway to me, traditional Broadway not Anthony Lloyd Weber overly ornate Broadway. Her pronunciation is crisp, even clearer than her speech.

The guest was David Roche. I've known David longer than I've known everyone else in the room put together. The Roches, his sisters' band was the second band I ever stalked, starting in 1988. He often shared a bill with them. He was always part of their Christmas show. I saw him perform many times without them too. The thing is back in those days I didn't talk to performers. The Roches knew me because I was always the first one on the line at their shows. They'd say hi as they walked by even if I was just passing them in the street on the way to eat before the show. Yet I never went past that. As hard as it is to believe I'm naturally shy and afraid of people. I have clearly learned to overcome that but I still find it difficult with people that I saw on stage before I learned how. So even though I always talk to the performers at shows like this I didn't talk to him. I even had something to say to him as I recently posted a photo of the Folk City softball team from 1978 that he's in. Well I thought I posted it. Now I can't find it. Well I can but on Hugh O'Doherty's Facebook page. He is the one that sent it to me. Here it is.

That's David on the lower right.

One of the songs he did used a style that I like very much but only when it's done well, it usually isn't. The lyrics of the stanzas, not the chorus, though poetry can pass for prose. If written in standard paragraph orthography you would never notice that it fits a rhythmic pattern. The words don't have the parallel structure you usually find in songs. The song was about his hating when the Giants (football) lose and I'm a Jet fan who loves it when they lose. Yet I loved the song. Now that's a compliment. David if you read this and you aren't scared away and lack the common sense to avoid me and you see me again come over and talk to me. Then I don't have to get up the nerve.

Oh, Damn. I've written 1008 words. I'll never get a chance to catch up on writing about my thoughts.

Tonight I'm off to see Lyle Lovett and Aoife O'Donvan in Prospect Park. I can walk to the show, it's a couple of miles away. If the weather holds up I will. I've seen Aoife many times. Let me count how many. One minute while I go through my files. � � � I finished counting. I've seen her precisely a zillion times but still love her every time. I've never seen Lyle and I'm psyched about that. He rocks and I love getting to see a big name for free. I'll get there early enough to actually have a good seat. I just have to figure out who is joining me. Of course this means I'll have more to write about tomorrow. Yes I'm complaining that I'll have something to write about because it stops me from writing about other things. It isn't easy being me.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 11, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!