I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 09, 2012 - 12:14 p.m.

Two Moons Once a Moon

I'm up early, caught up on everything so now's the time to get back in the habit of writing in the morning. I take that back. I haven't taken care of everything. I have to call Time Warner. My internet connection has been intermittent since I got it. I hope they can fix it by sending a signal to my cable box or modem. Sometimes that's all that it needs. I'm not really sure how that works. I'm not going to put it off any longer. I'll do it now. Now it's working. I better wait to call when it isn't.

I have gotten into the habit of not getting a good night's sleep then spending most of the day at the computer or watching TV then going out at night and starting over. I need to at least take a good nap at some point then I can accomplish more the rest of the daytime.

The one good thing about not having my stove connected and not being able to cook is that it does force me to go out for breakfast and then I explore the neighborhood a bit more. Yesterday I made it up to Fort Greene Park. I had breakfast at the bagel place. I didn't have a bagel, I had the French toast and egg platter. This store had this great Zagat's rating but the oddest service. When I ordered I wasn't asked how I wanted to my eggs. They just assumed I wanted them scrambled. I didn't I wanted over easy. Then when they served it there was neither syrup or butter for the French toast. When I went over to ask for something the waitress assumed I wanted ketchup. Now I know some people put ketchup on eggs, though I usually on scrambled. But it's pretty much standard to serve French toast with syrup and butter. Am I the first person to ever order the breakfast special there?

Last night's expedition was to the Two Moon Art House and Caf� for Bev and Carolann's 2nd Fridays at 2 Moon series hosted by Bev Grant and Carolann Solebello. The series has been going on for a while, Carolann is a good friend, and I am almost always a fan of the guest musicians. So why haven't I been there before? Because it's in Brooklyn and hard to get to � till now. Last night I walked! I got to walk to a concert! It is in fact the easiest way for me to get there. I could take the subway one stop and the wait for the train might make that take more time. Have I mentioned that I love living here? It gets even better too.

I had to stop at the bank so instead of walking down Fourth Ave I walked down Fifth. Because of that I found a chocolate restaurant! I didn't try it last night but I will soon. I told you things get better and I'm not done yet.

Facebook always tells me that I should be friends with Ina May Wool, no wonder as we have 231 mutual friends. She is Bev's musical partner in the duo Wool & Grant and she performed with Bev last night. The guest performer was David Massgengill. The special guest performer was Margret RoadKnight.

The format for the show was each performer did a short set then everyone but Margret performed in the round.

I know Carolann the best of course and last year she was the performer I saw the most often. I have not caught up with entering all my concerts into my spread sheet this year but shockingly I think this is my first time seeing her. Six months without Carolann is far too long, it also isn't quite accurate. She might be the person I've seen the most this year but that's social. I haven't seen her perform. My next project might be to make a list of everyone I see socially and see who I see the most often. The problem with that is how to deal with situations where see someone at a show. Sometimes that's significant and sometimes it isn't. I'd have to make choices and that makes it somewhat arbitrary. I'll have to come up with objective criteria first.

When I met Carolann she was in Red Molly. She was a singer, an interpreter of other people's songs. Now she's a songwriter and is becoming a prolific one. I love watching the transformation. I also love the songs and how they are evolving. The more she writes the better she gets. It doesn't always work that way. Some people get everything they have to say as soon as they start writing and then spend the rest of the time repeating themselves. Carolann has a background in musical theater and it shows in her singing and songwriting but it's influence is waning. Her newer songs are more diverse and come from all over the place. There's a lot in Carolann and she's letting it out.

Ina May was not what I expected. I don't know why I expected anything in particular but I did and I think I was influenced by other people that like her whose tastes are not close to mine. So yes I'm saying I had low expectations. I was thinking wimpy; pleasant but vacuous. I�m glad to say I was wrong. She has attitude. Wool & Grant have even more attitude. I love being pleasantly surprised. I actually suspected I would be wrong when I was talking to her before the show. Sure she could be one of those people that is more interesting than their music but at least I knew there was a there there. Bev came pretty much as advertised, filled with attitude and energy.

Why didn't anyone remind me to take my pill this morning? How did I forget? I'll be right back

I've known David the longest. My first exposure was at the guy that wrote my favorite Roche's song (at least on alternate Wednesdays I have a lot of favorite Roche's songs), The Road to Fairfax County. I've been seeing him perform for over 20 years. He took his set list last night from my brain; my five favorite songs of his, Riders on The Orphan Train, My Friend Joe, Mouse, Kill the Rich, and Fairfax County. He closed with a song I didn't know and of course can't remember now. I always think of David's songs as bittersweet but that's too specific. The emotional message is never pure, it is always a blend. Yes sometimes bittersweet but sometimes it's a chocolate covered salted pretzel, sometimes sweet and sour pork. There's a primary flavor and then an undertone of something else. He somehow manages this with what sounds like the simplest of melodies and harmonies. His originals could come from the Child Ballads or Anthology of American Folk Music. The duality comes across in him as a person too. He is a long standing New York folk institution yet he talks and his manners are of someone fresh from his native Tennessee. He comes across as simply and folksy but is simultaneously complex.

After the show I walked with David as far his his subway then the rest of the way by myself. I stopped for dinner. I've been singing the praises of this neighborhood but I'm about to raise it to a new level. This is holy ground. Sing hosannas. I noticed that Pathmark was open and went in for some OJ and a few other necessities. I made a huge discovery. The store carries, hold on to your hats, TAYLOR HAM!!!!!!!!!!. Not only that but it's cheaper than I've seen it in Jersey! I am free of the Tyranny of Brian threatening to cut off my supply. Hallelujah! Blessed is the pork roll.

Tonight, well actually this afternoon I'm taking a bus up to the Turning Point in Piermont to see The Kennedys. They've are on the list of performers I see the most every year the last 17 years but I've only seen them once this year. I need to catch up. I haven't seen them outside of shows either so I need to catch up. That means I should put this to bed and get moving

While writing this the internet went out again and I called up the cable company. They think the problem is with my brand new router. I hope not. If it is do I just return it and get a new one or is there something I might have done wrong in the setup?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 09, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!