I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 26, 2017 - 4:36 p.m.

The War On Beelzebub

Another late start today. I woke up, saw that I didn't like the WFUV Question of the Day and went back to sleep for almost two hours. I had a great dream about one of my friends. I was going to tell her about it. I have no idea what happened in the dream or who the friend was. I sometimes wonder if when that happens that the vague memory of the dream is false. Perhaps I didn't have a dream like that at all. When it all happens in your head nothing can be taken for granted. Tests have shown over and over again in many different situations that we can't trust our memories or perceptions, yet people can't accept that. Does that mean we can't trust our judgement either? Yes, it does. We'll see where the entry goes; I might come back to this.

Yesterday's expedition was to acquire an arsenal to use against the alien invaders, Musca domestica, house flies. Think of Alfred Hitchcock's, The Birds indoors with flies; that is what this house has been like. We put out fly strips and the quickly filled up. The local arms dealer, the City Island hardware store didn't have sufficient weaponry so I went to supplier with the big boxes, Home Depot. Instead of selling packs that have a paltry four strips they sell them in lots of 10. They also sell these clear panels you stick om your windows where the flies congregate and I bought a 4-pack of those.

When I came home the fly presence was greatly diminished. What happened, did hear my plans and flee or go to ground? I should have taken counter-intelligence precautions. There is also the slight possibility that it was the cool weather making them less active. I put a strip up near the light over the couch I use as my base of operations, the one I am on when I write. Flies are attracted to the light, that's why in the day they are on the windows and at night by the lightbulbs. Even with the diminished fly numbers it caught quite a few flies. Let me take the current count. There are 19, only two were caught since I turned the light off before I went to bed. I didn't put on the window panels till this morning. Without getting up it looks like the caught five. There is only one living fly on the window so that's good. In late afternoon is when they congregate by that window the most.

If the flies return with the warm weather I move on to flame throwers and chemical weapons. I'm standing by my pledge of no first-use of nuclear weapons but I'm seriously reconsidering it.

This is day where I love being on City Island with a window facing the water. My weather app says it's 82°; for me that's AC temperature. The app is not giving me the temperature on the Island, there's no weather station here. That's what it is on the mainland. We are surrounded by water I'm feeling the ocean breeze. The temperature is perfect. I should go out and take a walk., I should at least go out though it's so pleasant inside. I got a late start so today is not the day to write the grand synthesis of political ideas that's been churning in my mind. I'll give it another day to digest.

There's a new button at the bottom of this entry before the share buttons; "My Amazon Wish List." I'm not looking for anyone to buy me anything. I lost my CD collection, I had more than 1500. I had ripped maybe 400 or 500 of them. The rest are lost forever and I will never be able to afford to buy them all and I don't want all those physical CDs. What I would like is to replace them digitally. If you have any of the albums and would be willing to rip them and send me the files via dropbox or whatever sharing app you like best I'd appreciate it. I'll remove them from the list as I get them, it's my version of repeal and replace except nobody is going to lose coverage or get a tax cut. I doubt John McCain will make a speech about it then do exactly the opposite of what he said he'd do in the speech.

The list is growing. It's not like I have all the CDs I owned filed alphabetically in my head. I'm doing it by artist. I'm leaving out the classical. I can get all I need of that from Amazon Prime. There are musicals. There is probably more rock there than you expect. I have to start working on the blues. I go on, add everything by one artist that I had. Amazon then often makes suggestions and that takes me someplace new. When that peters out I start again. It's a bit of a mental strain so I can't do that much at once. It's another stupid thing that causes anxiety. The story of my life.

Even if you don't want to send me anything you might be interested in my taste. If you think all I listen to is folk music you'll be surprised. You can learn a great deal about a person from the music zhe listens to.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 26, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!