I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 25, 2016 - 11:03 a.m.

A Tale of Two Games; Thrones and Fantasy Baseball

I'm starting this before the WFUV Question of the Day is over. I'm supposed to do that every day. I often don't start till two hours later. Of course it's partially because I got up early which means I didn't get enough sleep and will pay for that later. But it's partially because I made myself start.

Every day I violate one of the rules of good writing. I don't start with the subject like. There is always a prologue that has little to do with the main theme. I picked that up from Isaac Asimov's essays in the Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. By good chance that provides a segue into the main theme, the fantasy TV show, Game of Thrones. Wasn't that clever? Just say yes, we'll all be happier if you do.

I only started watching GoT last year. I started from Season 1 and worked my way through it. It took me a full season to become enamored of it. It's still not close to Lord of the Rings but it is must see TV. If George Martin had written LOTR there would have been as much written about the intrigue at Edoras with Théoden, Théodred, Éomer, Éowyn, and Wormtongue as about Frodo's journey to Mordor.

As a run up to last night's season premiere the New York Times had some articles on the show. They mentioned the shocking rape of Sansa that created an uproar with fans. I had no memory of it. How can that be? So I googled it and found it was in episode 6 and watched it. I had somehow missed it and it was an important episode. There were so many key plot points. First how did I miss it, and second how did I not notice? Once I saw it the season made a lot more sense. Then I watched most or the rest or the season so things would be fresh in my mind for the premiere. I didn't quite have time for it all and watched just the second half of the last episode. I figured that was more important. I knew I wanted to see the death of Jon Snow again to see if there were hints of how he'd come back as just about everyone is confident he will.

I don't have a TV so I watched online. I didn't know I could watch at the same time as it is shown on cable but I googled and found I could So that was the plan. I actually started watching at about five after nine, not nine. Nobody spoiled anything for me. Not that it was a spoiler kind of episode. I'm going to talk a bit about last night's episode but if you haven't seen it don't worry. This really won't spoil anything.

The one cliffhanger, almost literally, I was unhappy with was the fate of Sansa and Theon. Last we saw they were jumping off the top of the castle to what should have been their death or serious injury. Instead they were perfectly find when they hit the grown. I know there was snow but I just find it hard to accept. If you think I'm wrong jump from a similar height into a few feet of snow and tell me about it. It isn't even a few feet. When they walk through the snow it's not that deep.

I was wondering how long they can afford to wait to burn Jon Snow's body before he gets reanimated as a zombie or whatever you call the dead that the white walkers reanimate. If he's going to come back it has to be fast. If I were them I'd have already burned him. Better safe than sorry.

I was disappointed that Bran was not in the episode at all. He missed an entire season. I haven't read the books and I'm a newbie to the show but it seems to me that like Frodo in LOTR the true quest lies with him. The fight for the crown is a sideshow, the threat to the world is the White Walkers and it looks like he's the one fated to defeat them. If not what's the point of his adventure in the north? I also have a soft spot for him, Jon, and Arya. I watched the entire show in a short time. In the beginning it looked like it was the story of the Stark Clan. When Ned died my attention when to his children. Sansa was a brat at the start so I have less affection for her and what's the point of Bran's little brother. I can't even remember his name. Will he be Sam to Bran's Frodo? Whatever it is I care most about those characters. Arya is my favorite though her karate kid training is beginning to wear on me.

Anyone have a guess how much longer the series will go on? Winter is long overdue. Ned Stark was a terrible weather forecaster. I blame global warming. I might as well make a fool of myself and say how I see things panning out. Tyrian and Dany will reunite and eventually win the Iron Throne. Jon will play a key role in defeating the White Walkers and marry Dany. The dragons will be phased out for contributing to global warming and be replaced by solar and wind powered dragons. Half of the other characters will die. Everyone feel free to laugh at me when I'm far off the mark.

I haven't given a report on the Nashional Batnoses in while. So you know how I did no preparation for the draft this year? I didn't even buy the Baseball Prospectus. I drafted a player that I should have known had lost his job. All I had was projections of how players would do this year. So how are we doing?

We are tied for second. We are very lucky with the pitching but unlucky with the hitting. So maybe it won't be too bad. Of course this week was cursed. One of the hitters, Chris Colabello was suspended for 80 games for using PEDs. Then yesterday two of my starting pitchers went down in the third inning. Shane Greene just has a blister but will probably miss a start. The other is our ace, Carlos Carrasco. He has a hamstring injury and is headed to the DL. I already had two pitching openings. I claimed two free agents so we'll see how things work out.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 25, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!