I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 19, 2013 - 11:53 a.m.

1 Nellie + Tres Amigos + 1 bass player = great entertainment

I overslept this morning. I don't have school so I didn't have to get up at 7:30 so I turned off the school alarm on my phone but forgot to set it to wake me up for the WfUV question of the day at 8:30. Yes I wake up special so I can post the QotD on the FB group and take part in the discussion. I enjoy the early morning socializing

But now let's go back to yesterday. As you remember Elrond and all the other Elves left The Last Homely House West of the Mountains which I might start shortening to Rivendell to visit Celebrian's family in Lothlorien . Yesterday morning I heard someone walking outside my door. I didn't get nervous, I actually recognized the footsteps as Arwen's. She came back here to do schoolwork.

I made an omelet for brunch yesterday and shortly after I finished I had a Crohn's attack. That is the way it usually works. I don't feel the obstruction till I eat something and the digestive system kicks into high gear. Even though what I've just eaten is in the stomach the intestines start moving to make room for it. It was worse than the last mini-attack I immediately took 20 mg of prednisone and it started to clear up within an hour. I then slept the entire afternoon. In fact I slept so long that when I awoke it was time for me to leave for the evening. I was feeling well enough that I could. I really should have my instant cure for Crohn's attacks published. If you have it try it next time you have an attack. You probably already have the prednisone in the house. Notice it's a cure for the attack not the disease.

I got dressed and raced out to see Nellie McKay. To make it extra special her band was The Amigos Band formerly the Tres Amigos. Not only that it was at Dizzy's Club Coca Cola a block, a very short block from my school. Too bad school was closed. I wanted to get there early to get a good seat. That's why I raced out. I got there about 45 minutes early which was early enough to get a great seat. Well it would have been if they didn't discriminate against singles. Because I was one person alone if I wanted a table I could either sit on the side of the stage with a piano between me and Nellie or slightly behind the stage and the speakers on the other side. Yes they sell seats where you see the backs of the performers and hear the show through the monitors. They tried to steer me to the "bar seats" which were not by the bar. They were bar stools which I hate even when they have backs like these did. You have to either hold your legs way back or let them dangle. Neither is comfortable. There's a shelf to put your food or drink but it's behind you. And just for fun the seats don't face the stage but off to the side.


I turned my chair to face the stage but nobody else did. I think they thought it wasn't allowed. Some people turned their heads 70˚ to see. I was going to order food but I didn't since I didn't have a table. At least the minimum is less at the stools.

Everything about the venue was either great or lousy, no in between. For the most part the staff was very friendly and courteous. The one exception was when the host was seating me and showing me my bad options had to try and defend the seats he was forced to show me. When I moved to the bar seats I said, "Isn't there anything not in the back? He said it wasn't in the back. That brought out my I can't believe you actually said that voice; "Not the back? There's a wall behind me!" He admitted it was the back. The saving grace was that I liked the person next to me. He wasn't there when I got there since he had to go and pick up his wife. When they got back we started talking. He was a friend of Justin from the Amigos. We talked about the banjo and the New York bluegrass scene. Then a host came over and brought them to a table as they wanted to eat and were now no longer a single. They were replaced by people known to the staff. They couldn't believe they were sitting in such terrible seats and offered to move them. They didn't accept the offer. My guess it was because they only stayed for half the show and didn't want to be conspicuous when they left.

Have you picked up that I'm very upset at their anti-singles policy?

As I said the staff was great and the waitress was very nice about me just ordering coffee which was actually a dollar below the $5 minimum. I thought they'd charge me $5 anyway but they didn't.

I was not in a good mood till the Amigos took the stage. It's pretty hard to be upset when they are playing. As I have said before they have a Moxy Fr�vous vibe combined with great musicianship. They aren't as funny as Fr�vous but they are far more talented musicians. They radiate the same joy about performing as Fr�vous did. They did a few of their own songs then were joined by Nellie. They weren't an opener but her band.

I've been in love with Nellie for ten years. She was all of 16 when I started seeing her. I used to sit with her mother at shows. The Amigos are a perfect fit for her as they both combine virtuoso musicianship with total insanity. Nobody sees the world like Nellie does and it's no act. It is exactly what she's like off stage. Actually it's just like her mother is too, so I shouldn't say no one. I so regret that after she made it big and wasn't playing at little places where it was easy to talk to her that I didn't make an effort to speak to her. Yes I was actually shy. Then the prices of her shows went up and I couldn't see her that often. That's the price of your musicians getting big. I'm sure she has no memory of me.

She had a lot of new songs that I didn't know. I was going to buy her latest album but she said she didn't have CDs for sale. She might have been joking. The Amigos had CDs but I couldn't find where they were selling them. That's another problem with Dizzy's. they put the merch someplace you have to hunt for it. I did and still couldn't find it.

But back to Nellie she puts on a great show and worked so well with the Amgos. At a few parts it felt like something out of an old time TV special, think of Bing Crosby talking to David Bowie in that Christmas classic. It's not phony because it's so obvious that I's phony that it became a joke about being phony. That's very Nellie. She sings songs that take positions she totally disagrees with and you are supposed to pick up that it's irony. She expects her audience to be smart, very much like Randy Newman. She's utterly charming.

I hope that the Amigos talked me to her like I asked them too. I'll be talking to her for the first time in ages when she does a show with Red Molly in April. I told Red Molly to be my wingmen (wingwomen?) too. The idea is that she'll go, "You must be the sexy cool Gordon I've been hearing so much about;" when we meet. You'll all vouch for me, right? I hope she doesn't run into Carey as she'll add, "In a spiny anteater sort of way." Not that there is anything wrong with being a sexy sexy monotreme. Spell check doesn't know "monotreme." That's anti-egg-laying mammal discrimination.

More good things about Dizzy's; the sound was great and the view spectacular. It's on the 5th floor and overlooks Central Park.


The Amigos


Nellie and the Amigos


Nellie at the Piano

The only bad thing about the show was that it was too short, a bit shorter than a Joe's Pub show. So another strike against Dizzy's. They are a lot more expensive than Joe's too. Well maybe not. I don't know what they'd get to Nellie Nowadays. She's gotten a lot bigger since the last time she played there.

Here's an odd thing, WfUV doesn't play her recent material even though it is more popular than the early stuff.

I tried to talk to the Amigos and maybe Nellie after the show but they didn't come out so I headed out to grab some dinner. I went to Steak and Shake. You can't beat a burger, fries, and a shake for $10. Never wait on line tor Shake Shack when you can get food that is just as good and shakes that are better for half the price at Steak and Shake.

I've been writing Google Reviews including Steak and Shake; you can read them here, My Places.

I better make brunch now. Then I'm off to the shrink. I need her despite my upbeat entries I am not in good shape. I'm doubting her efficacy but I need someone to talk to.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 19, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!